Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

US National Track Championships - CN

Lehigh Valley Velodrome, PA, August 26-30, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 4 - August 29: Men Madison, Women Keirin, Women 5-Mile, Men Sprint

Surprise win for Saunders/Stewart; Uhl continues Nationals March

By Jacob Burns

Stephen Alfred untouchable
Photo ©: Donna Chiarelli

The Lehigh Valley Velodrome held off rain and lightning to complete the fourth night of the USCF National Track Cycling Championships in Trexlertown, PA. Events with newly crowned national champions include the men's sprint and Madison and the women's keirin and five-mile scratch race.

In the one hundred and twenty lap Madison Lea and Wamsley of T.E.A.M. Fuji took the early lead with a strong ten-lap breakaway. When they were caught Jonas Carney and Colby Pearce (Prime Alliance) launched a counter attack making the team of Nothstein and O'Bee (Navigators) chase in earnest. This breakaway was quickly chased down launching the decisive Erik Saunders/Jackson Stewart (Ofoto/Lombardi Sports) break. Saunders and Stewart were able to take a lap on the field with eighty laps remaining in the bike race. Then a move that would have secured second place for Gui Nelessen and Todd Yezefski (Sportsbook.com) slipped away from them when they were unable to hold their lap on the field. This leaving Ofoto as the only team with a lap. With 30 laps remaining the battle began for second place between Saturn of Bellevue, Prime Alliance and T.E.A.M. Fuji. The Prime Alliance team of Pearce and Jonas Carney was able to hold off all advances to take second place with team of Saunders and Stewart taking the win with their lap on the rest of the field.

The women's keirin saw Sarah Uhl (Saturn Cycling Team) lead out the final two laps with Becky Conzelman and Becky Quinn following in suit. Then with a half lap remaining Conzelman faded and Jennie Reed (Gregg's Cycle/VW) made a run from the back. In what came down to a photo finish Reed nearly overtook Uhl, but the young Perkasie, PA resident held her off to take her second national championship of the week.

The women's five-mile final began with a horrific crash involving Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club) and Junior National Champion Kim Geist (East Coast Velo). When the race resumed with 18 laps to go, Mari Holden (Team T-Mobile) went to the front and using her road fitness kept the pace fast. Then with one lap to go Becky Quinn, the 2002 National Champion in the scratch race, found herself five places back while fourteen year old phenom Lauren Shirock (Coyote Cycling) led the field all the way to turn two. From there Becky Conzelman made a run down the backstretch, but out of turn four Sarah Hammer (Team T-Mobile) charged overtaking Conzelman to win the Five-Mile National Championship.

The men's sprint came down to a third ride between teammates Giddeon Massie and Stephen Alfred (Cody Racing). In the first ride it was all Alfred, but making a run in the second ride Massie came even. In the third and final ride Massie jumped in turn one to take the lead with Alfred plotting his course. Then coming around turns three and four Alfred kicked and was able to overtake Massie for the win and his first USCF National Sprint Championship.

The Saturday morning session is to qualify men for the ten mile final and team sprint competitions to be contested Saturday night.


Images by Donna Chiarelli


Women's Kierin

Heat 1
1 Jennie Reed (Gregg's Trek/Volkswa)                 12.590
2 Rebecca Quinn (Unattached)
3 Jamie Pettinato (Gotham Cyclists)
4 Kimberly Geist (East Coast Velo)
5 Martha Dunne (Jelly Belly-Carlsbad)
6 Nicole Raspa (Artemis)
7 Cynthia Manach (Southern Elite)
Heat 2
1 Sarah Uhl (Saturn)                                 13.490
2 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club)
3 Cindy Lakatosh (Tri-State Velo)
4 Norrene Godfrey (Team Rubicon)
5 Elizabeth Reap (Fuji T.E.A.M.)
6 Cynthia Bye (Kissena Cycling Club)
7 Brooke O'Connor (Colavita-Bolla Racin)
1 Elizabeth Reap (Fuji T.E.A.M.)                     13.399
2 Kimberly Geist (East Coast Velo)
3 Brooke O'Connor (Colavita-Bolla Racin)
4 Martha Dunne (Jelly Belly-Carlsbad)
5 Norrene Godfrey (Team Rubicon)
6 Cynthia Manach (Southern Elite)
7 Nicole Raspa (Artemis)
8 Cynthia Bye (Kissena Cycling Club)
Heat 1
1 Jennie Reed (Gregg's Trek/Volkswa)                 12.774
2 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club)
3 Elizabeth Reap (Fuji T.E.A.M.)
4 Martha Dunne (Jelly Belly-Carlsbad)
5 Jamie Pettinato (Gotham Cyclists)
Heat 2
1 Sarah Uhl (Saturn)                                 12.887
2 Rebecca Quinn (Unattached)
3 Cindy Lakatosh (Tri-State Velo)
4 Kimberly Geist (East Coast Velo)
5 Brooke O'Connor (Colavita-Bolla Racin)
7-10th Final
7 Jamie Pettinato (Gotham Cyclists)                  13.534
8 Kimberly Geist (East Coast Velo)
9 Martha Dunne (Jelly Belly-Carlsbad)
10 Brooke O'Connor (Colavita-Bolla Racin)
1 Sarah Uhl (Saturn)                                 12.640
2 Jennie Reed (Gregg's Trek/Volkswa)
3 Rebecca Quinn (Unattached)
4 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club)
5 Cindy Lakatosh (Tri-State Velo)
6 Elizabeth Reap (Fuji T.E.A.M.)

Women's 5 mile Scratch

Time of 24.17 due to crash
1 Sarah Hammer (T-Mobile)                             24.17
2 Rebecca Quinn (Unattached)
3 Erin Mirabella (Frisco Cycling Club)
4 Ashley Kimmet (Colavita-Bolla Racin)
5 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club)
6 Norrene Godfrey (Team Rubicon)
7 Anna Webb (Vaniqua/Reds Racing)
8 Sarah Uhl (Saturn)
9 Mari Holden (T-Mobile)
10 Lauren Shirock (Coyote Cycling)
11 Nicole Raspa (Artemis)
12 Annette Hanson (Team Rubicon)
13 Brooke O'Connor (Colavita-Bolla Racin)
14 Catherine Powers (Richard Sachs)
15 Rook Campbell (Hi Tech Bikes)
16 Jamie Pettinato (Gotham Cyclists)
17 Miranda Moon (Team Rubicon/United)
18 Darien Curl (Team Rubicon)
19 Cynthia Manach (Southern Elite)
DNF Kimberly Geist (East Coast Velo)
DNF Colleen Hayduk (Vortex)
DNF Cindy Lakatosh (Tri-State Velo)
DNS Elizabeth Reap (Fuji T.E.A.M.)

Men Madison

1 Jackson Stewart/Erik Saunders (Ofoto)                   2 pts
One lap behind
2 Jonas Carney/Colby Pearce (Prime Alliance )            16
3 Kenny Williams/Tyler Farrar (Saturn Of Seattle)        15
4 Bobby Lea/Kyle Wamsley (Fuji)                          14
5 Kirk O'Bee/Martin Nothstein (Navigators)               10
6 Mariano Friedick/Kirk Albers (Jelly Belly)              7
7 Guillame Nelessen/Todd Yezefski (Sportsbook.Com)        1
8 David Godfrey/Doug Beck (Rubicon)                       1
DNF Marcus Black/Ryan Luttrell (Cody)                     0
DNF Eric Gerolstein/Joseph Dantoni (Cycles De Oro)        0
With Jared Bunde/Eric Ragot (Kissena)                     0

Men Sprint

Semifinal Heat 1 - Race #1
1 Stephen Alfred                        11.225 (64.143km/h)
2 Kevin Belz
Semifinal Heat 1 - Race #2
1 Stephen Alfred                        11.143 (64.615km/h)
2 Kevin Belz
Semifinal Heat 2 - Race #1
1 Giddeon Massie                        11.893 (60.540km/h)
2 Ben Barczewski
Semifinal Heat 2 - Race #2
1 Giddeon Massie                        11.342 (63.481km/h)
2 Ben Barczewski
Quarterfinal 5-8 Ride
5 Christian Stahl                       11.380 (63.269km/h)
6 Joshua Weir
7 Robert Lindstrom
DNS Michael Beers
3rd-4th - Race #1
1 Kevin Belz                            11.393 (63.197km/h)
2 Ben Barczewski
3rd-4th - Race #2
1 Kevin Belz                            11.108 (64.818km/h)
2 Ben Barczewski
Final - Race #1
1 Stephen Alfred                        11.033 (65.259km/h)
2 Giddeon Massie
Final - Race #2
1 Giddeon Massie                        11.087 (64.941km/h)
2 Stephen Alfred
Final - Race #3
1 Stephen Alfred                        11.252 (63.989km/h)
2 Giddeon Massie