Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

US National Track Championships - CN

Lehigh Valley Velodrome, PA, August 26-30, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day  

Day 5 - August 30: Team Sprint, Women Points Race, Tandem Sprint, Men Scratch Race

Mirabella laps field; Pearce takes scratch race

By Jacob Burns

The rain passed through the Lehigh Valley Velodrome early in day sparing the final night of the USCF National Track Cycling Championships in Trexlertown, PA. The final events proved to be very exciting with top finishes by Team Cody X, Erin Mirabella and Colby Pearce.

Team sprint finals opened the evening with team Cody X (Christian Stahl, Andy Lakatosh, and Giddeon Massie) competing against the Gotham Cyclists (Eduardo Cocina, Kevin Belz and Michael Beers) team. Going into the final lap Cody X held the lead by just over six tenths of a second, but Mike Beers (Gotham Cyclists) made a run and nearly overtook Stahl. In the end Gotham Cyclists lost the Team Sprint National Championship by less than two tenths of a second.

The women's points race started off slow but soon began to break apart. An attack by young Lauren Shirock (Coyote Cycling) began the fray. Then Mari Holden (Team T-Mobile) and Ashley Kimmet (Colavita-Bolla), 2001 Junior World Silver Medallist in the Points Race, got away to take the lead with thirty-five laps remaining. From the pack Erin Mirabella (Frisco Cycling Club) and Sarah Hammer (Team T-Mobile) charged to catch the break. The four riders maintained their near half-track lead working flawlessly together only breaking their cohesion in the race for point sprints. With six laps remaining in the bike race it looked as though Kimmet had the race sewn up on points, but an awesome effort by former individual pursuit champion Erin Mirabella gave her the 20 points awarded riders able to lap the field. In a desperate effort Kimmet tried to bridge the gap and gain her twenty point boost, but to no avail as Mirabella powered the field away from Kimmet to take the Women's Points Race National Championship.

In the men's 15-kilometer scratch race cat-and-mouse games between the top riders kept the pace very fast for the entire event. Marty Nothstein, the 2002 winner of the scratch race championship, worked hard to chase down every potential break. When the group of Scott Zwizanski (Team Snow Valley), Colby Pearce (Ofoto/Lombardi Sports), Timmy Reinhart (Saturn Development) and David Godfrey (Team Rubicon) countered a Jame Carney attack, Nothstein was nowhere to be found. Indeed the quartet of Zwizanski, Pearce, Reinhart and Godfrey were able to take a lap on the field with only 12 laps remaining in the bike race. Then with three laps remaining Colby Pearce went to front with Kenny Williams (Saturn of Bellevue). The duo powered to take one-two in the final sprint giving Colby Pearce the 15-kilometer Scratch Race National Championship and Kenny Williams fifth place.


Men - Team Sprint
1 Cody 1 TS              1:04.2 (56.112 km/h)
 Christian Stahl
 Giddeon Massie
 Martin Nothstein
2 Gotham TS              1:04.6 (55.703 km/h)
 Eduardo Cocina
 Gilbert Hatton
 Michael Beers
 Kevin Belz
3 Cody X TS              1:04.8 (55.558 km/h)
 Andy Sparks
 Stephen Alfred
 Adam Duvendeck
4 East Coast Velo TS     1:05.8 (54.718 km/h)
 Ben Barczewski
 Joshua Weir
 Erik Bonser
5 Gotham 2 TS            1:06.9 (53.803 km/h)
 Gilbert Hatton
 Todd Yezefski
 David Wiswell
6 Colavita Bolla TS      1:09.5 (51.769 km/h)
 Robert Lindstrom
 Chris Ferris
 Eric Degolier
7 Rubicon TS             1:19.7 (45.193 km/h)
 Darien Curl
 Miranda Moon
 Norrene Godfrey
Final classification
1 Cody 1 TS
 Christian Stahl
 Andy Lakatosh
 Martin Nothstein
 Giddeon Massie
2 Gotham TS
 Eduardo Cocina
 Kevin Belz
 Michael Beers
3 Cody X TS
 Stephen Alfred
 Andy Sparks
 Adam Duvendeck
4 East Coast Velo TS
 Ben Barczewski
 Joshua Weir
 Erik Bonser
5 Gotham 2 TS
 Gilbert Hatton
 Todd Yezefski
 David Wiswell
6 Colavita Bolla TS
 Robert Lindstrom
 Chris Ferris
 Eric Degolier
7 Rubicon TS
 Darien Curl
 Miranda Moon
 Norrene Godfrey
Women's 20 km Points Race Final
(60 laps with sprints every 6 laps)
1 Erin Mirabella             35 pts
2 Ashley Kimmet              29
3 Sarah Hammer               24
4 Mari Holden                15
5 Rebecca Quinn              11
6 Sarah Uhl                   8
7 Lauren Shirock              5
8 Catherine Powers            3
9 Anna Webb                   0
10 Annette Hanson             0
11 Miranda Moon               0
12 Darien Curl                0
13 Rook Campbell              0
14 Nicole Raspa               0
15 Norrene Godfrey            0
DNF Cynthia Bye             -20
DNS Cynthia Manach            0
DNS Kimberly Geist            0
Men's 7.5 km Scratch Race Heats
Heat 1
1 Joseph Dantoni (Cycles de Oro)
2 Erik Saunders (OFOTO-Lombardi Sport)
3 Doug Beck (Unattach)
4 Mark Gorman (Tri State Velo)
5 Tim Reinhart (Saturn Development)
6 David Wiswell (Gotham Cyclists)
7 Peter Sargent (Team Snow Valley)
8 Jame Carney (Prime Alliance)
9 Ryan Luttrell (5280 Subaru)
10 Jeremy Miller (East Coast Velo)
11 Chris Ruhl (East Coast Velo)
12 Christopher Remaly (South Bay Wheelmen)
13 Jared Bunde (Kissena)
14 Randy Smargiassi (Bike Doctor/Cannonda)
15 Marcus Black (Cody Racing)
16 Eric Ragot (Kissena Cycling Club)
17 Gregory Durovich (East End/Kreb Cycle)
DNS Kyle Wamsley (Team Fuji)
DNS Jackson Stewart (OFOTO Lombardi Sport)
DNS John Walrod (River City Bicycles)
DNS Bobby Lea (Team Fuji)
DNF Chris Ferris (Unattached)
DNF Nathan Rouse (Sprotsbook.com)
DNF Ben Barczewski (East Coast Velo)
Heat 2
1 Colby Pearce (OFOTO-Lombardi Sport)
2 Kenny Williams (Saturn For Seattle)
3 Scott Zwizanski (Team Snow Valley)
at 1 lap
4 Kevin Schiller (Anthony's Cyclery)
5 Mike Pudlinski (Team Fuji)
6 Thomas Norton (CCB Volkswagen)
7 Martin Nothstein (Navigators)
8 David Godfrey (Team Rubicon)
9 Joshua Weir (Focus 2004)
10 Larry Detris (Race With Kendall)
11 Luis Gonzalez (Team Fuji)
12 Todd Yezefski (Nerac.com)
13 Charlton Hoag (Liberty Cycle)
14 Devin Flaherty (VPMC)
15 Christopher Minnich (South Bay Wheelmen)
16 Marco Aledia (Webcor)
DNS Arthur Mchugh (Morgan Stanley)
DNS Michael Luther (Colavita-Bola Racin)
DNS Guillame Nelessen (Sportsbook.com)
DNF Tyler Farrar (Jelly Belly-Carlsbad)
DNF Leyton Murray (Kreb/ East End)
DNF Eric Gerolstein (Ford Cycling)
DNF Mike Schnabel (East Coast Velo)
DNF Julian Cushing (East Coast Velo)
Men's 15km Scratch Race Final
1 Colby Pearce (OFOTO-Lombardi Sport)       18.35
2 Scott Zwizanski (Team Snow Valley)
3 Tim Reinhart (Saturn Development)
4 David Godfrey (Team Rubicon)
at 1 lap
5 Kenny Williams (Saturn For Seattle)
6 Martin Nothstein (Navigators)
7 David Wiswell (Gotham Cyclists)
8 Christopher Remaly (South Bay Wheelmen)
9 Ryan Luttrell (5280 Subaru)
10 Kevin Schiller (Anthony's Cyclery)
11 Doug Beck (Unattach)
12 Joshua Weir (Focus 2004)
13 Chris Ruhl (East Coast Velo)
14 Mark Gorman (Tri State Velo)
15 Thomas Norton (CCB Volkswagen)
16 Luis Gonzalez (Team Fuji)
17 Peter Sargent (Team Snow Valley)
18 Larry Detris (Race With Kendall)
19 Jame Carney (Prime Alliance)
20 Erik Saunders (OFOTO-Lombardi Sport)
DNF Joseph Dantoni (Cycles de Oro)
DNF Jeremy Miller (East Coast Velo)
DNF Mike Pudlinski (Team Fuji)
DNS Todd Yezefski (Nerac.com)