Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch Race

West Dapto, April 13, 2003

Morris again

Tim Morris again won the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club weekly scratch race last Saturday. In a race which saw the A-grade field split into 4 Morris saved enough to take the sprint from new member Craig Williams and Guy Mathiske.

Threatening clouds did not deter enough riders to prevent the 41 kilometre event held at the West dapto course which again saw riders climbing the steep side of Marshall Mount this time on the first lap.

By the end of lap one the A-grade field had split into three groups with the first group containing Morris, Williams, Mathiske, Luke Dale and Adam Rourke pulling away by over two minutes from the second group. Over the next lap this gap increased by another minute guaranteeing no contest from the chasers.

The B-grade event started hard with Joe Pereira attacking in the first kilometre. A blasé bunch let him go on his own until Peter MacDonald charged up the climb at Hooker Hill. The combined pair quickly gapped the rest except for Terry Welsh who bravely tried to make across to the breakaway.

Pereira and MacDonald built on their lead climbing the steep side and the run back to the turn around widening the gap to over a minute. The B-grade chase was unable to reduce their lead. Pereira eventually won from MacDonald and Mitchel Burns took third over a minute behind.

The C-grade event was two laps to Marshall Mount Hall. With only four riders there was no dispute over who would ride at the front with newcomer Mark O'Keefe getting that honour for almost both laps. O'Keefe was not challenged until the finish when a strong effort from Emma Ringer nearly robbed him. In the end O'Keefe won from Ringer and Vince O'Dwyer and Terry Wall.

Next week's race is a 41 kilometre handicap. Please contact Lionel Covington to enter on 4226 9278. Group 6 are marshals.


A Grade, 41 km
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)             1.03.34
2 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
3 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)
4 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
5 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
6 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)              3.18
7 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
8 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
9 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)               3.37
10 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
11 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)            7.02
12 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
13 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)            7.51
B Grade, 41 km
1 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)           1.11.23
2 Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)
3 Mitchell Burns (Illawarra)            1.11
4 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)                1.59
5 Karen Dutton (Sutherland Shire)
6 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)               2.27
C Grade, 37.5 km
1 Mark O'Keefe (Illawarra)           1.08.09
2 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)
3 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)
4 Terry Wall (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Illwarra CC
Canberra CC - ACT State Criterium Championships
St Kilda CC Criterium Championships
Randwick Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Launceston CC - Jim Phillips Memorial
Tasmanian Schools Road Championships
Footscray CC


Complete Australian results for 2003