Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 8-14, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, June 8, 2002

Fast racing at Heffron Park

Rider numbers were down at the Randwick Botany Cycling club race at Heffron Park on Saturday 8 June 2002 due to riders competing in the Sydney Road Championships at Parramatta.

Thirteen A and B Grade riders combined for a 30km event. John Kenny from Eastern Suburbs, Jerry Sowa from the town of Gizycko in northeast Poland and George Pappas from the Dulwich Hill club broke away mid way through the race and established a 300m lead on the main bunch. Joseph Sorby made a solo bid to bridge the gap but finished out of the placings. In a hotly contested sprint Kenny crossed first in a time of 45min 52sec and a quick 39.6kph average speed. Sowa was second followed by Pappas in third place. The first B Grader home was Craig Dempsey from the Eastern Suburbs club.

New club member Rob Allen starred in the C Grade race over 28km. Allen is a triathlete and has joined the club to compete in road races and criteriums. The 17-rider bunch stayed together for most of the race with Sam Haeata finishing first in a time of 46min 27sec followed by Phillip Chippendale, Rob Allen and Dan O'Callegan from the Sydney club.

Ten D Grade riders competed over 20km with Liam Fletcher finishing first in a time of 34min 9sec. Peter Davison was second and Melanie Rassam third. The E Grade 14km race was won by Kevin Blanchfield in a time of 38min 9sec.

Four junior events were run starting with the U19 Time Trial over 2km. Liam Fletcher recorded a time of 3min 21sec. Tyron Bicknell scored a time of 3min 34sec in the U15 2km Time Trial. The U11 Time Trial over 2km was won by Andriano Maradini 4min 8sec with Nick Mellick 5min 13sec second. The 6km Handicap placings were Liam Fletcher, Nick Mellick, Adriano Maradini and Tyron Bicknell.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A/B Grade, 30km
1 John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs) 	      45.52 (39.6kph)
2 Jerry Sowa (Poland)
3 George Pappas (Dulwich Hill)
First B Grader: Craig Dempsey (Eastern Suburbs)
C Grade, 28km
1 Sam Haeata  					      46.27  (36.5kph)
2 Phillip Chippendale
3 Rob Allen
4 Dan O'Callegan (Sydney)
D Grade, 20km
1 Liam Fletcher  				      34.09  (35.5kph)
2 Peter Davison
3 Melanie Rassam
E Grade, 14km
1 Kevin Blanchfield,  			      38.05


U19 Time Trial, 2km
1 Liam Fletcher,      			      3.21
U15 Time Trial, 2km
1 Tyron Bicknell,   	  			  3.34
U11 Time Trial, 2km
1 Andriano Maradini,  			      4.08
2 Nick Mellick,       			      1.05
Handicap 6km
1 Liam Fletcher
2 Nick Mellick
3 Adriano Maradini
4 Tyron Bicknell

Australian results from the past week

Brisbane Valley Tour
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Darwin Cycling Club - Bridge to Bridge 30km time trial
Darwin Cycling Club - Pointscore
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tour of Cardinia
Wagga Motors Open Handicap
Wagga to Albury - John Woodman Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2002