Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 8-14, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Interclub

Illawarra, June 8, 2002

The main objective for a handicapper is to attempt to have the bunches come together in the closing kilometres of the race. The Illawarra stage of the 2002 Interclub series did that to a large degree last Saturday.

Very strong SW winds had created a few problems for the bunches when riding into them but had given a bit of a breather when they were at their backs.

The outer bunches struggled under the conditions with the stronger riders behind making up time quickly on them. The 10:30minute group gathered up nearly all of the riders out to the limit group off 24:00 minutes by the end of the first lap.

The 8:30 minute bunch had a large contingent of Caesar’s Illawarra riders in it and they were the driving force behind it going so well. Adrian Cooper, Lionel Covington, Ben Lohse and Neil Midgley all worked to keep the pace high.

The 7:00 minute bunch was holding the bunches behind at bay and closing on the ones infront with some very strong riding being done by Brian Joyce, Peter Evans, Garry Doughty, Nowra’s Chris Cooper, Southern Highland’s Steve Jackson and Michael Gleeson and Simon Holland both from the Macarthur club.

As the lead riders from the 10:30 group entered Cleveland road, with only 3km to the finish, they were caught by the 8:30 bunch that had the 7:00 bunch just making contact also.

With the strong tail wind it made it difficult for the 7:00 minute riders to make their through all the riders infront of them.

Cooper had seized his opportunity and attacked off the front of the lead group and headed for the finish.

Unfortunately he was chased down by two Goulburn riders and had to be content with third.

Midgley won the bunch gallop for fourth place with Tony Pulo fifth. Joe Chiaverini was eleventh and Joe Pereira thirteenth. Doughty was the best placed of the 7:00 minute bunch in seventeenth place only six seconds behind.

The two scratch riders, Richard Vollebregt and Shaun Lewis, both from Southern Highlands never gave in even though they were chasing five riders off the 2:00 minute mark still managed to get fastest time by just over a minute.

Chiaverini is in third place in the overall series on 19 points with Cooper sixth on 13. Midgley and Pulo are in equal seventh place on 12. Illawarra has a 1 point lead in the Club competition and Vollebregt is leading the fastest time series.

The Macarthur Interclub race is the next race at Oakdale on July 20th.

Next weekend’s race is a 41km scratch race with group 3 providing the marshals.


1 Dean Thompson (Goulburn)                    1.36.22
2 Fred McClelland (Goulburn)
3 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
4 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
6 Scott Johnson (Nowra)
7 Scott Evans (Goulburn)
8 Brian Cockshot (Macarthur)
9 Luis Arias (Hinchinbrook)
10 Pat Gleeson (Macarthur)
11 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)
12 Paul Hume (Sth Highlands)
13 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
14 Mal Brown (Nowra)
15 Constantine Toparis (Goulburn)
16 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
17 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)                     0.06
18 Steve Jackson (Sth Highlands)                 0.08
19 Michael Gleeson (Macarthur)
20 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
21 Chris Cooper (Nowra)
22 Simon Holland (Macarthur)
23 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
24 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
25 Josh Powe (Macarthur)
26 Michael Bentley (Goulburn)
27 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
28 Frank Larsen (Macarthur)
29 Hubert Driehuis (Nowra)                       0.44
30 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
31 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
32 Adam Lambert (Goulburn)
33 Kevin McInerny (Macarthur)
34 Ian Stone (Macarthur)
35 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)                      0.57
36 Joe Nethery (Nowra)                           1.00
37 Andy Derks (Sth Highlands)                    1.07
38 Sandra Beaumont (Sth Highlands)               1.15
39 Chad Balding (Sth Highlands)                  1.36
40 Chris Brown (Illawarra)
41 Roger Bird (Nowra)
42 Gerard Walsh (Sth Highlands)
43 Ben Blakebrough (Sth Highlands)
44 Graham Northey (Goulburn)
45 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
46 James Williamson (Sth Highlands)
47 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
48 Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)
49 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
50 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
51 David Russel (Illawarra)
52 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
53 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)                     2.16
54 Marcus Arnold (Illawarra)
55 Richard Vollebregt (Sth Highlands)            2.29
56 Shaun Lewis (Sth Highlands)
57 Michael Berriman (Nowra)                      2.38
58 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)                    3.02
59 Reg Hitchens (Illawarra)                      3.19
60 Jackko Laajokki (Illawarra)
61 Tom Petrie (Sth Highlands)                    4.10
62 Jacob Schol (Nowra)                           4.22
63 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
64 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)
65 David Macefield (Macarthur)                   4.44
66 Chris Kennedy (Macarthur)
67 Michelle Crawford (Goulburn)                  5.33
68 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)                         6.27
69 Chris Bushell (Goulburn)                      7.04
70 Kevin Brown (Sth Highlands)                   7.19
71 Kim Edwards (Goulburn)
72 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
73 Mathew Feeney (Sth Highlands)
74 Bruce Cosgrove (Goulburn)
75 Robbie Williams (Nowra)
76 Ben Smith (Goulburn)
77 Anthony Cole (Goulburn)
DNF Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)
DNF Lou Palermo (Illawarra)
DNF Mick Shannon (Nowra)
DNF Barry Flint (Goulburn)
DNF Dave Morris (Illawarra)
DNF Kerry Moroz (Macarthur)
DNF Barry Neall (Sth Highlands)
DNF Connor Gleeson (Macarthur)
DNF Ron Reinhold (Macarthur)
DNF Dean Kelly (Nowra)
DNF Daryl Spence (Goulburn)
DNF James Huggett (Goulburn)
DNF Emma Ringer (Illawarra)
DNF Phil Haworth (Macarthur)
DNF Alan Wilson (Nowra)
DNF Georgina Penning (Goulburn)
DNF Les Hewitt (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Brisbane Valley Tour
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Darwin Cycling Club - Bridge to Bridge 30km time trial
Darwin Cycling Club - Pointscore
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tour of Cardinia
Wagga Motors Open Handicap
Wagga to Albury - John Woodman Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2002