Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Tour home
Preview
Photos
Live coverage
Start list
Stages & results
News
Map & profiles
Tour diaries
Features & tech
FAQ
Tour history

Recently on Cyclingnews.com


Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift


90th Tour de France - July 5-27, 2003

The Route - Something old, something new

The 2003 Tour de France stage by stage

By Tim Maloney Cyclingnews European Editor

Click here for a full-size map
©AFP

The parcours of the 2003 Tour de France is a tribute to the history of the century-old Grand Boucle, visiting the six original cities of the first edition of the 1903 Tour de France. Starting in Paris, Le Tour Centenaire traverses le hexagone of France via Lyon and the Alpes, Toulouse and the Pyrenees, Bordeaux, Nantes and back again to Paris.

The Tour de France 2003 consists of a prologue and 20 stages, with a total distance of 3,427.5km, including ten flat stages, seven mountain stages, two individual time trial stages (104km total, plus the 6.5km prologue) and one 68km team time trial stage.

Along the road from Paris to Paris, the TdF 2003 peloton will encounter three tough mountaintop stage finishes, enjoy two rest days, and make one transfer by car and one by TGV train. However, the centenary edition of Le Tour isn't all retro, with 10 new stage towns for 2003: Meaux, La Ferté-sous-Jouarre, Sedan, Saint-Dizier, Joinville, Sallanches, Gaillac, Cap Découverte, Saint-Maxente-L'Ecole, Pornic.

Although the 2003 Tour de France is not that difficult, the special tension always present at the Tour, magnified by the pomp and circumstance of the centenary edition should provide a big challenge to American Lance Armstrong, who is seeking a fifth consecutive win in the Grande Boucle.

Stage Profiles

Click on the stage for a full profile and description. To take a stage-by-stage tour of the route, start at the Prologue and click the 'Next stage' links on each page.

  • Prologue - Saturday, July 5: Paris, Eiffel Tower - La Maison de la Radio ITT
  • Stage 1 - Sunday, July 6: Saint-Denis/Montgeron - Meaux
  • Stage 2 - Monday, July 7: La Ferté sous Jouarre - Sedan
  • Stage 3 - Tuesday, July 8: Charleville Mézières - Sai
  • Stage 4 - Wednesday, July 9: Joinville - Saint-Dizier TTT
  • Stage 5 - Thursday, July 10: Troyes - Nevers
  • Stage 6 - Friday, July 11: Nevers - Lyon
  • Stage 7 - Saturday, July 12: Lyon - Morzine
  • Stage 8 - Sunday, July 13: Sallanches - L'Alpe d'Huez
  • Stage 9 - Monday, July 14: Bourg d'Oisans - Gap
  • Stage 10 - Tuesday, July 15: Gap - Marseille
  • Stage 11 - Thursday, July 17: Narbonne - Toulouse
  • Stage 12 - Friday, July 18: Gaillac - Cap Découverte ITT
  • Stage 13 - Saturday, July 19: Toulouse - Plateau de Bonascre
  • Stage 14 - Sunday, July 20: Saint-Girons - Loudenvielle
  • Stage 15 - Monday, July 21 : Bagnères de Bigorre - Luz Ardiden
  • Stage 16 - Wednesday, July 23: Pau - Bayonne
  • Stage 17 - Thursday, July 24: Dax-Bordeaux
  • Stage 18 - Friday, July 25: Bordeaux - Saint Maixent l'Ecole
  • Stage 19 - Saturday, July 26: Pornic-Nantes ITT
  • Stage 20 - Sunday, July 27: Ville d'Avray - Paris-Champs Elysées

Cyclingnews' live coverage of the 90th Tour de France is powered by