Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Colorado University Cycling Criterium

Boulder, CO, March 18, 2006

Lapinto laps up the challenge

By Robert Hicken

The racing continued in Colorado with the C.U. Cycling Criterium. This is a dead flat, 1 kilometre course with multiple s-turns and tricky bends. It is by far one of the fastest courses in Boulder. A top calibre field showed up to test themselves in the 50 minute race. The race started with a field limit of 95 riders. From the gun the pace was throttled into high gear as many riders wanted to keep themselves out of harm's way. Pete Lopinto and Dan Schmatz of Kodak Gallery/Sierra Nevada were stringing the field out single file in the hope of creating a break that could allow them to easily lap the field.

Christopher Stockburger (Toyota-United) was giving it a go in hopes of snapping the elastic and seeing the field disappear in his wake. But there were still many noteworthy riders that were policing the front of the field and were not in any mood to be left behind. Eddy Gragus (Trek/VW), Clark Sheehan (Denver/Boulder-Couriers), Andy Bajadeli (Jelly Belly) and Jon Baker (Vitamin Cottage) were driving the front of the peloton for most of the race and were getting a 5-10 second gap from the field, but with a strong headwind on the backstretch they were constantly being reeled back in.

With about 10 minutes to go the race looked like it would end up in a field sprint and as the pack came through with two to go in had been whittled down to some 50 riders. A few of the front riders made a last push before the sprint to free themselves, most notably Andy Bajadeli, but the riders from Kodak Gallery-Sierra Nevada still had the most juice left in their legs as Peter Lopinto sprinted hard to take it from the former USPRO champion Eddy Gragus (Trek/VW). This was a tough race of attrition put on by local race promoter Brian Hludzinski, and with close to half of the field eliminated it ensured some great early season fitness. Brian is a tireless promoter of racing in Boulder and is putting on the Koppenburg RR this weekend. For more information check out: To follow The C.U. Cycling Team through the season go to:


Men Pro-Open
1 Pete Lopinto (Kodak Gallery-Sierra Nevada)    
2 Eddy Gragus (Trek/VW)                         
3 Dan Schmatz (Kodak Gallery-Sierra Nevada)     
4 Brent Hanlin (Haulin Ass)                     
5 Christopher Stockburger (Toyota-United)       
University of Colorado Collegiate divisions
Division A men
1 Kevin Selker (CU)                             
2 Corey Carlson (UNC)                           
3 Noah Singer (FLC)                             
4 Ryan Mele (FLC)                               
5 Christopher Hurley (Mines)                    
6 Christopher Stockburger (CU)                  
7 Kirk Carlson (CU)                             
8 Evan Ruzanski (CSU)                           
9 Glenn Murray (UCCS)                           
10 Allen Krughoff (CU)                          
Division B men
1 William Hickey (CSU)                          
2 Will Cromwell (FLC)                           
3 Peter Himpsel (CU)                            
4 Zachary Valdez (FLC)                          
5 Clayton Albracht (CU)                         
6 Tom Hunter (DU)                               
7 David Muecke (DU)                             
8 Blake O'Donnell (FLC)                         
9 Phillip Becker (USAFA)                        
10 Nate Kane (CU)                               
11 Andrew Kemendo (USAFA)                       
12 Max Hoener (FLC)                             
13 Nick Truitt (CSU)                            
14 Steve Forbes (DU)                            
15 Christopher Schultz (Wyoming)                
Division C men
1 Brett Tack (CSU)                              
2 Justin Taylor (CU)                            
3 James Howatt (CSU)                            
4 Martin Guess (CU)                             
5 Max Gambescia (Metro State)                   
6 Luke Price (DU)                               
7 Jason Bretibarth (CU)                         
8 Ben Staab (Wyoming)                           
9 Albert King (UNC)                             
10 Nick Morgan (UNC)                            
11 Alex Racier (CSU)                            
12 Jacob Lovoi (CU)                             
13 Paul Frinak (CU)                             
14 Kim Fessenden (CU)                           
15 Brandon Saxon (DU)                           
16 Chaun Sims (CSU)                             
Division A women
1 Onawa Pelham (FLC)                            
2 Sarah Levy (CU)                               
3 Melissa Doherty (Wyoming)                     
4 Stephanie Swan (FLC)                          
5 Kinberly Lemonde (CSU)                        
6 Jenna Dancy (CU)                              
7 Mara Abbott (out conf)                        
8 Kara Fling (CU)                               
9 Sarah Rawley (CSU)                            
10 Lynn Bush (CU)                               
Division B women
1 Kathy Rakel (USAFA)                           
2 Kathyrn Garner (DU)                           
3 Kelly McFall (CSU)                            
4 Kandi Henderscheid (USAFA)                    
5 Stehanie Hirst (USAFA)                        
6 Ashley Culp (USAFA)                           
7 Beth Ross (CSU)                               
8 Deb Zell (CU)                                 
9 Alicia Gibson (FLC)                           
10 Julia Manley (CSU)                           
11 Abigail Crews (USAFA)                        
12 Kristen Medeans (CU)                         
13 Victoria Pollard (CU)                         

Local results 2006