Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Goulburn CC

Interclub series #1, May 10, 2003

Report by Illawarra CC

The best weather in race history greeted the 84 starters for the first race of the 2003 Interclub Series held at Breadalbane by the Goulburn Club.

The 45km course is quite demanding as the riders have to climb the Cullinen range on the way back from the turn around.

It looked like the group containing 13:00 minute bunch forward would be in the box seat largely due to the relentless pace being set by Dave Morris and Phil Jones. But with only a few kilometers to the finish that group was caught by another large bunch consisting of the 6:00 minute bunch through to 11:00 minute bunch.

The combined group was approximately 40 riders strong and starting to give the judges at the finish line a big headache.

The strong men from the 6:00 minute bunch that were the driving force of the large group included Illawarra riders Jeff Gray, Andrew Stewart, Gavin Drury.

Unfortunately with under 3km to the finish Andrew Brooks, who had started off limit and ridden 90 percent of the race by himself, was mown down by the speeding group.

In a big bunch finish not for the faint hearted the winner was Terry Grimma from Macarthur followed by Mark Pel from Nowra. Illawarra filled the next four places with Stweart, Drury, Tony Pulo and Keith Bennet.

Gray was 8th, Mark O'Keefe 10th, Phil Jones 11th, Terry Welsh 12th and Bobby Krstevski 13th.

Adam Rourke was second in the fastest time competition.

Riders are reminded that next week's race is 62km scratch race starting at 1pm. Group 9 are to marshall.

Results 45.0km

1 Terry Grimma (Macarthur)
2 Mark Pel (Nowra)
3 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
4 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
6 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
7 Scott Evans (Goulburn)
8 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
9 Brian Cockshot (Macarthur)
10 Mark O`Keefe (Illawarra)
11 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
12 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
13 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
14 Alan Townsend (Eurobodalla)
15 David Walsh (Goulburn)

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
Illawarra CC
Central Coast CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Southern Cross CC
Footscray CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC


Complete Australian results for 2003