Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Handicap

May 3, 2003

Crowther overpowers Stagg

Adam Crowther won by the slimmest of margins in Saturday's 41km handicap over last week's B grade winner Jonathan Stagg in a seven up sprint for the line. Forty two riders enjoyed a balmy autumn afternoon in a well handicapped race. Les Hewitt led the riders off with the six rider strong scratch bunch bringing up the rear twenty minutes later.

Warren Poole unfortunately threw his chain in the first few kilometres of the race but didn't panic and was able to catch back up to the rest of the 14 minute bunch by Marshall Mount.

The seven riders in the 11 minute bunch were working like a well oiled machine and putting time into four chasers who started 2 minutes behind them. Graham Rutter and Dylan Forbes were driving the 2:30 minute bunch along not letting the scratch bunch close the gap at all.

The 5 minute bunch caught the 7 minute bunch at Yallah TAFE on the way back to Huntley on the first lap and they were in turn swamped by the 2:30 bunch on the climb up Hooker hill.

At the beginning of the last lap there were three groups on the road, the combined 9 minute bunch forward, the fast moving 2:30, 5 & 7 minute group and the chasing scratch riders.

It looked like the 2:30 group would get up but the 9 minute group held on by 12 seconds to take the victory.

Crowther outsprinted Stagg with Poole, Stuart Binns, Niki Gudax, Fiona Campbell and Peter McDonald rounding out the top seven.

Forbes edged out Rob Calladine and Mark Walters as the second group crossed the finish line.

Peter Jones won the sprint for fastest time with Adam Rourke second in a time of 1:01:07.

There is no local race next week as the riders will be in Goulburn for the first race of the Interclub series.

Results, 41.0km

1 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)
2 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)
3 Warren Poole (Illawarra)
4 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
5 Niki Gudex (Manly Warringah)
6 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)
7 Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)
8 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
9 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
10 Mark Walters (Sth Highlands)
11 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
12 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
13 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
14 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
15 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
16 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
17 David Greening (Illawarra)
18 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
19 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
20 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
21 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
22 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
23 Sally Watts (Sth Highlands)
24 Mal Moss (Illawarra)
25 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
26 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
27 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
28 Andrew Shepherd (Macarthur)
29 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
30 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
31 Dave Morris (Illawarra)
32 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)
33 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)
34 Jackko Laajokki (Illawarra)
35 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)
36 Raffael Chiaverini (Illawarra)
37 Mark Wall (Sutherland Shire)
38 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)
39 Frank Soto (Illawarra)
40 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
41 Raye Taylor (Sth Highlands)
42 Les Hewitt (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Southern Cross CC
Tour of the Derwent Valley
Illawarra CC
Carnegie Caulfield
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2003