Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch race

April 26, 2003

Franklin again

The rain held off and their was little wind for the 44.5km scratch races last Saturday and Steve Franklin continued on his winning ways after taking the gold medal for the Southern Division A grade race the other week.

The rather casual start to the A grade 46km scratch race was a sign of things to come for the bunch of 8 evenly matched riders. Frustrated with the slow pace Craig Williams attacked with 15km's to go in the first lap. His solo attack was reeled in by the start of the second lap and things slowed again despite the best efforts from Williams and Steve Franklin to break the bunch up over the Marshall mount climb. Adrian Cooper had a crack with 8 km's to go but the bunch once again came together and it finally came down to a bunch sprint. Franklin took out the hotly contested sprint form Peter Jones and Mark Wall in third place.

The A-1 grade had a steady start to their race with nothing happening until 7km when Austin Pittman rode away from the field, he was quickly followed up the road by Brian Joyce, Canberra Rider and then Jeff Gray. Joyce and Gray stayed away, but were caught after the climb of the Railway Hill. The field stayed together until again Pittman and Joyce broke away at the TAFE farms. They looked like staying away until the 2nd time up the steep side of Marshal Mount when an attack by new rider Mitchell Burns caused a reaction that split the bunch and resulted a final selection of riders joining the two breakaways. This group, that would fight out the placings included Pittman, Joyce, Burns, Gray, Gil Rutty and Keith Bennett.

During the final 5kms several attacks were launched but none were successful due to some hard chasing, this was not going to be a race that any of the final group were prepared to let go. Finally Brian Joyce succeeded in getting away with 1km remaining but he was just pipped on the line by Rutty with Pittman crossing the line in third place.

The B grade race was blown apart on the first climb up the steep side of Marshall Mount hill. Three riders, Bobby Krstevski, Jonathan Stagg and Fiona Campbell rode away from the rest of the bunch and set off at a quick tempo.

The chasers were unable to close the gap quickly and the three leaders put a big effort in and rode away from them. At the completion of the race the time gap was 3:30min. Stagg was too strong and won by two bike lengths from a very close finishing Krstevski and Campbell.

The decisive move in C grade also came on the climb with Jaclyn Kejda leading Teegan Makowski away from the large bunch. Only Alan McClelland was able to bridge the gap. Kejda was unable to sustain the effort and dropped back to the bunch. The two leaders worked well together building a gap of 1:32min back to the chasers. Makowski outsprinted McClelland for the win with Paul Kaye winning the sprint of the chasers for third place overall. Warren Poole had a strong ride in only his second race since joining the Club.

Next week's race is a 41km handicap. Marshals are from group 8.


D Grade,18.5km
1 Les Hewitt (Illawarra)       0.48.50
C Grade, 41.0km
1 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)  1.15.08
2 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)
3 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)           1.32
4 Warren Poole (Illawarra)
5 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)
6 Terry Wall (Illawarra)          3.15
7 Wayne Farrugia (Illawarra)      5.25
8 Ralph Chiaverini (Illawarra)
9 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)         9.17
10 Jaclyn Kejda (Illawarra)
A1, 44.5km
1 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)        1.14.19
2 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
3 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
4 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
5 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
6 Mitchell Burns (Illawarra)
7 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)       1.13
8 Greg Nelson (ACT)
9 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
10 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
11 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
12 David Russel (Illawarra)
A Grade, 44.5km
1 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)   1.13.50
2 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
3 Mark Wall (Sutherland Shire)
4 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
5 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
6 Andrew Shepherd (Macarthur)
7 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
8 Luke Dale (Illawarra)           0.29
B Grade, 44.5km
1 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)   1.17.40
2 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
3 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)
4 Philip Jones (Illawarra)        3.27
5 Dean Kelly (Nowra)
6 Mal Moss (Illawarra)            3.34
7 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
8 Mark O'Keefe (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra CC


Complete Australian results for 2003