Six Days of Bremen

Germany, January 13 - 18, 2000

Preview     Starting list     Past Winners


By Jeffrey Jones

This year marks the 36th edition of the Six Days in Bremen, held in the "Stadhalle Bremen". Commencing on January 13, just two days after the finish of the Berlin Six, it is the second last six-day race of the 1999/2000 calendar.

The field is somewhat smaller than that for Berlin: 12 teams will start which should make life easier during the changeovers. Spanish world champions, Juan Llaneras and Isaac Galvez will once again be paired, however they are not expected to be amongst the front runners after their 11th placing in Berlin. Obvious favourites will be Berlin winner, Silvio Martinello (Ita) who will ride with Andreas Kappes (Ger). Also the Swiss duo of Risi and Betschart seemed to be showing flashes of form in Berlin.

Australian Scott McGrory and Dane Jimmi Madsen should be at the top, provided McGrory has recovered from his stomach troubles during Berlin. The other winner at Berlin, Marco Villa, will ride Bremen with veteran, Adriano Baffi and has to be considered a chance. Finally, theBelgian-German combination of Matthew Gilmore and Olaf Pollack (second in Berlin) may pull something special out of the bag.

Starting list:

1 Juan Llaneras/Isaac Galvez (Spa)
2 Andreas Kappes (Ger)/Silvio Martinello (Ita)
3 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Sui)
4 Jimmi Madsen (Den)/Scott McGrory (Aus)
5 Etienne Dewilde (Bel)/Stefan Steinweg (Ger)
6 Adriano Baffi/Marco Villa (Ita)
7 Jens Lehmann/Lars Teutenberg (Ger)
8 Thorsten Rund/Guido Fulst (Ger)
9 Nedd Dörich/Mario Vonhof (Ger)
10 Frank Corvers/Lorenzo Lapage (Bel)
11 Matthew Gilmore (Bel)/Olaf Pollack (Ger)
12 Erik Weispfennig/Andreas Beikirch (Ger)
Previous winners:
1965: Rik v. Steenbergen/Palle Lykke (Bel/Den)
1966: Rudi Altig/Dieter Kemper (Ger)
1967: Peter Post/Fritz Pfenninger (Ned/Swi)
1968: Rudi Altig/Sigi Renz (Ger)
1969: Peter Post/Patrick Sercu (Ned/Bel)
1970: Peter Post/Patrick Sercu (Ned/Bel)
1971: Rudi Altig/Albert Fritz (Ger)
1972: Wolfgang Schulze/Sigi Renz (Ger)
1973: Dieter Kemper/Graeme Gilmore (Ger/Aus)
1974: Leo Duyndam/Rene Pijnen (Ned)
1975: Patrick Sercu/Rene Pijnen (Bel/Ned)
1976: Günter Haritz/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)
1977: Albert Fritz/Wilfried Peffgen (Ger)
1978: Albert Fritz/Wilfried Peffgen (Ger)
1979: Danny Clark/Rene Pijnen (Aus/Ned)
1980: Albert Fritz/Patrick Sercu (Ger/Bel)
1981: Gregor Braun/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)
1982: Albert Fritz/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)
1983: Gregor Braun/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)
1984: Albert Fritz/Dietrich Thurau (Ger)
1985: Garry Wiggins/Tony Doyle (Aus/GBr)
1986: Dietrich Thurau/Josef Kristen (Ger)
1987: Dietrich Thurau/Danny Clark (Ger/Aus)
1988: Danny Clark/Tony Doyle (Aus/GBr)
1989: Andy Kappes/R. Hermann (Ger/Lei)
1990: Danny Clark/Roland Günther (Aus/Ger)
1991: Andy Kappes/Etienne de Wilde (Ger/Bel)
1992: Andy Kappes/Etienne de Wilde (Ger/Bel)
1993: Urs Freuler/Peter Pieters (Swi/Ned)
1994: Andy Kappes/Danny Clark (Ned/Aus)
1995: Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)
1996: Marco Villa/Silvio Martinello (Ita)
1997: Andreas Kappes/Carsten Wolf (Ned)
1998: Jens Veggerby/Jimmi Madsen (Den)
1999: Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)