Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
US CX Nat's Home

Event schedule
Elite Men
Elite Women
Espoir Men
Junior Men 17-18
Collegiate Men
Collegiate Women
Master Men
Master Women
Junior Women
Junior Men U16
B & C Men
B & C Women
Live Coverage

2001 US CX Nat's

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

2002 US Cyclo-cross Nationals - CN

Domaine Chandon, Yountville, California, USA, December 14-15, 2002

Main Page    Course Map    Results

Master Women

No pain, no Kain
Photo: © Jeff Tse
Click for larger image

The Master Women competed on the course together, but started in four separate age-graded waves, with the 30-plus women going first.

After two laps, however, 35-plus racer Shari Kain (RLX Polo Sport) led the entire bunch, going on to win in her category. Second overall but the first 30-plus rider was Kathleen Lenno (Ricthey/Palo Alto). The third fastest master woman overall, Jodi Groesbeck (Putney/West Hill), started in the third wave, with Groeebeck winning her fifth straight national title with victory in the 40-plus category.

The tightest race of the master women's category was a dual between Massachusett's Kathy Savary (SRP/Gearworks) and Linda Elgart (Webcor/Alta Velo) for the 45-plus race. Both have won national titles: Elgart has won numerous road title but lost the 2001 title race due to a mechanical mishap - Sarvary had won the 1997 title as a 35-plus racer but was looking to get back as a 45-plus. Sarvary led early but Elgart reeled her back in, and launched a last-lap attack that stuck.


Master Women 30-34
1 Kathleen Lenno (Ritchey/Palo Alto Bicycles)             46.32
2 Allison Baumhefner (Santa Cruz)                          1.31
3 Katrina Davis (Richard Sachs)                            2.19
4 Lauren Costantini (Sycip)                                3.11
5 Helene Drumm (Team Spine)                                3.13
6 Janie Dalton (Missing Link)                              3.39
7 Margell Abel (Veritas)                                   5.15
8 Megan Render (Team Snow Valley)                         1 lap
9 Melanie Dominguez (Bike Trip)
10 Esther Davis (Outback Bikes)
11 Shauna Potocky (The Bike Trip)
12 Julie Brothers (Los Gatos)
Master Women 35-39
1 Shari Kain (RLX Ralph Lauren)                           45.48
2 Suzanne King (Sunnyside Sports)                          2.08
3 Shelly Whisenhant (Velobella)                            2.09
4 Lisa Peck (Biogen)                                       3.53
5 Dorothy Wong (Kelly Bike Company)                        4.40
6 Wanda Howlett                                            5.06
7 Colleen Wanty (Missing Link/Bianchi)                     6.12
8 Sheila Moon (Sally Spicer.Com)                          1 lap
9 Jacqui Lockwood (Iccc-Team Ironclad)
10 Sami Fournier (Snow Valley)
11 Kathleen Bortolussi (Another Bike Shop)
DNF Teresa Jarzemkoski
Master Women 40-44
1 Jodi Groesbeck (Putney/West Hill)                       47.48
2 Karen Kenlan (Sunnyside Sports)                          3.19
3 Susan Maclean (Gearworks/Srp)                           1 lap
4 Andrea Mackie (Moots Cycles)
5 Celeste Mccartney (Missing Link/Bianchi)
6 Tammy Ebersole (Evolution Racing/ Indy Fab.)
7 Marguerite Meyer
8 Monica Neilson (Velo Bella)
9 Donna Anderson (Evolution Racing)
10 Kathleen Meyer (Campbell)
11 Jessica Hickel (Velo Bella)
12 Amy Burrer
Master Women 45+
1 Linda Elgart (Webcor/Alta Velo)                         50.56
2 Kathy Sarvary (Mid State Cycling Club)                   1.04
3 Vivian Chwalinski (J&P Bikes)                           1 lap
4 Bonnie Stoeckle (Evolution)
5 Tracy Lea (Team Fuji)