Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
US CX Nat's Home

Event schedule
Elite Men
Elite Women
Espoir Men
Junior Men 17-18
Collegiate Men
Collegiate Women
Master Men
Master Women
Junior Women
Junior Men U16
B & C Men
B & C Women
Live Coverage

2001 US CX Nat's

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

2002 US Cyclo-cross Nationals - CN

Domaine Chandon, Yountville, California, USA, December 14-15, 2002

Main Page    Course Map    Results

Junior Men 17-18

Anthony stages a Massachusetts massacre

Massachusetts rider Jesse Anthony (Saturn) defended as national champion but struggled to fend off a challenge from Vermont's Jamey Driscoll (GMBC).

After yesterday's deluge, racers today found clearing skies, lighter winds, and a drying course. Intermittent rains, however, continued to impact the competition, but did not deter fans in the slightest.

"He got a couple of gaps on me, and we were yo-yoing back and forth," said Anthony, a favorite to win the World Championships next month in Italy. "He faded a bit, and I was able to keep the pressure on. I just punched it at one point and held it to the end."

Driscoll finished second, with Colorado's Zack Grabowski (Saturn), who led early in the race, finished third.


1 Jesse Anthony (Saturn Development Cycling Team)    42.32
2 Jamey Driscoll (Green Mountain Bicycle Club)        0.08
3 Zak Grabowski (Saturn Cycling Development Team)     0.56
4 Steven Cozza (Team Swift)                           1.08
5 Tucker Thomas (Rad Racing)                          1.29
6 Joey Thompson (Balance Bar/Devo)                    2.21
7 David Fleischhauer (Rad Racing Nw)                  3.07
8 Morgan Schmitt                                      3.55
9 Konrad Lebas (E-Caps/Hammer Nutrition)              4.12
10 Perry Paolini (Balance Bar - Devo)                 4.47
11 Will Dreeman (Rad Racing Nw)                       4.57
12 Mike Wente                                         5.47
13 David Volkert (Asc Genisoy)                        6.37
14 Andy Brooks                                        6.55
15 Severin Skolrud (Rad Racing)                      1 lap
16 Tyler Carmichael (Lbc/Cyclocrossworld.Com)
17 Joshua Hansen (Rad Racing)
18 Daniel Neyens (Broadmark)