Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Tasmanian State Track Cycling Championships

Launceston, February 22-23, 2003

By Rod Morris in Launceston

Reigning Junior World Champion, Mark Jamieson captured a further two gold medals at the opening sessions of the Tasmanian Track Championships at the Launceston Silverdome this week.

Jamieson (19) won the State Madison with Hobart's Stephen Rossendell last week and then later won the Sprint Championship after earlier qualifying in second position behind Launceston's Ryan Johnson. Jamieson was timed at 12.03 seconds for the 200m qualifying, but was upstaged by Johnson, who was clocked at 11.97.

Jamieson found true form later in the day when he beat 2000 Latrobe Wheel winner Grant Young in successive rides in the semi-final before doing the same to Johnson in the final.

The real star of the track championships, however, was Devonport 16-year-old Natasha Mapley, who is in just her third year riding and has recently been added to the Tasmanian Institute of Sport's "B" Squad. Mapley won all four gold medals on offer in her age group.

She started the ball rolling with victory in the Individual Time Trial, riding 40.69 seconds for the 500 m and winning easily from her main rival, Grace Sulzberger (42.84). She later won the U17 Scratch title and then the following day, won both the Flying 200 m in 13.32 secsonds and the Sprint Championship.

This weekend Mapley will be aiming to win the 2000 m Individual Pursuit and then she will team with fellow Mersey Valley-Devonport CC members, Jarrod Harman, John Rayner and Matthew Bonham, in the Teams Pursuit.

Other multiple gold medal winners from the State Championships thus far include Alex Holden (U15 men), Samantha Hellyer (U15 women) and Will Robinson (U17 men).

The State titles continue at the Silverdome tomorrow (Saturday) at 9 a.m. and then on Sunday, open age riders will head to Devonport to compete in the Regatta Criterium.


1 Mark Jamieson/Stephen Rossendell            29 pts
2 Matthew Atkins/Daniel Cutting               31
at 2 laps
3 David Klyne/Matt Goss                       29
Individual Time Trial
Junior U15 men
1 Nick Kaine                               39.28
2 Alex Holden                              39.83
3 Tom Robinson                             39.93
Junior U15 women
1 Samantha Hellyer                         41.52
2 Kailee Goodwin                           43.97
3 Carrie Price                             44.17
Junior U17 men
1 Will Robinson                            37.56
2 Matthew Bonham                           37.89
3 Josh Myers                               38.19
Junior U17 women
1 Natasha Mapley                           40.69
2 Grace Sulzberger                         42.84
3 Darah Bugg                               43.91
(No Junior U19m/w  or Men & Women ITT titles held)
Scratch Races
Junior U13
1 Edward Robinson                        3.25.98
2 David Lyons
3 Peter Loft
Junior U15 women (15 laps)
1 Samantha Hellyer                       7.09.25
2 Sarah Eaves
3 Carrie Price
Junior U15 men (15 laps)                 6.12.19
1 Alex Holden
2 Clay Murfet
3 Brendan Sutton
Junior U17 women (8.40.50)
1 Natasha Mapley
2 Grace Sulzberger
3 Darah Bugg
Junior U17 men (30 laps)                12.32.94
1 Will Robinson
2 John Rayner
3 Josh Myers
Junior U19men
1 Matt Goss
2 Kaiden Homan
3 Tim Walker
1 Stephen Rossendell
2 Grant Young
3 Mark Jamieson
Flying 200
Junior U15 men
1 Alex Holden                              13.04
2 Nick Kaine                               13.26
3 Tom Robinson                             13.49
Junior U15 women
1 Sam Hellyer                              13.98
2 Carrie Price                             14.64
3 Kailee Goodwin                           14.73
Junior U17 men
1 Matthew Bonham                           12.46
2 John Rayner                              12.51
3 Will Robinson                            12.59
Junior U17 women
1 Natasha Mapley                           13.32
2 Grace Sulzberger                         14.10
3 Carolyn Cunningham                       14.43
1 Ryan Johnson                             11.97
2 Mark Jamieson                            12.03
3 Grant Young                              12.05
Junior U15 men
1 Alex Holden
2 Nick Kaine
3 Clay Murfet
Junior U15 women
1 Sam Hellyer
2 Carrie Price
3 Kailee Goodwin
Junior U17 men
1 John Rayner
2 Matthew Bonham
3 Josh Myers
Junior U17 women
1 Natasha Mapley
2 Grace Sulzberger
3 Carolyn Cunningham
1 Mark Jamieson
2 Ryan Johnson
3 Grant Young

Previous Results from Australia