Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Chelsea Cup on Wheels

Chelsea Velodrome, November 23, 2002

Favourite Wilksch takes Chelsea Cup

By Malcolm Sawford

It was almost unbearably hot today on the 500 meter Chelsea velodrome, with the temperature well over 30 degrees, but a quality field turned out for the first of the inter Club track races hosted by the Chelsea and Peninsula Cycling Club. With the first of the major indoor carnivals only one week away it was a good opportunity for riders to test themselves against open competition.

The feature event, the Chelsea Cup on Wheels over 1000m was well won by Scratchman Todd Wilksch (Fitzroy Cycles). After qualifying comfortably in a heat dominated by the back markers, Wilsch was clear favorite for the final. Hometown favorite Jeremy McLay was sensationally DQ'ed as he looked headed for a comfortable heat win, but closed in on the tiring front markers quicker than he expected and was forced to overtake on the duckboards, leaving officials no choice but to relegate him from the placings.

With 12 in the final, the three front markers lost any chance of the win by each opting to go it alone rather than combine their strengths, whereas the two middle markers, Andrew Shannon and Peter Ballas, combined well and looked to have the win sewn up before Shannon went backwards trying to come of the wheel of his tiring companion, allowing backmarker Wilksch to fly home with 10 meters to spare.

The inter club invitational Keirin challenge ended up being a Carnegie Caulfield clean sweep, with Under 17 star Shane Perkins leading home team mates Tommy Nankervis (Gran Prix Cycles) and Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) despite the best efforts of the 3 Chelsea riders to dictate the race.

Wheelrace winner Wilksch also took out the 7km A Grade scratch race and 10km 'how fast can Ron make this Postie bike go' motorpace, proving himself clearly the quickest on the day. Things didn't go his way in the final event 10km points score, with the win going to Blackburn's Richard England after a midrace breakaway with Justin Davis (O'Mara Cycles) allowed him to take the lions share of the points and leaving the sprinters empty handed.

B Grade saw the honors spread around, with Ballas taking out the opening scratch race comfortably, although Catherine Allen impressed with her late burst to narrowly miss second place, Aaron Moody took out the motor pace, and in a race of attrition in the late afternoon heat veterans Russell Poole and Mike Goldie took off in the closing stages of the points score to claim the first 2 placings.

No Club track racing next weekend, but as a warm up for local riders prior to the evening's Melbourne Cup on Wheels, the Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club will be holding a roller derby next Saturday morning as part of the Glen Eira Traders Christmas Festival in Kornang Road, Carnegie opposite the Rosstown Hotel. Details can be found at the Club's website, www.carnegiecycling.com.au. Why not come along for a rare chance to rider the famous 'World of Sport' rollers, in an event for both licensed and novice riders?


Images by Ann Johnstone, Chelsea CC


Chelsea Cup on Wheels 1000m

1 Todd Wilksch (Horsham CC) Scr
2 Andrew Shannon (Carnegie Caulfield CC) 40m
3 Barry Woods (Blackburn CC) 20m
4 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn CC) Scr

Chelsea Cup Junior Wheelrace 500m

1 Arron Eynavd (Blackburn CC) 100m
2 Courtney Hicks (Chelsea & Peninsula CC) 60m
3 Peter Vlahos (Blackburn CC) 80m
4 Chris Perkins (Blackburn CC) 110m

Invitational Keirin

1 Shane Perkins (Carnegie Caulfield CC) 
2 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Hayden Meade (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)

A Grade 22 starters

1 Todd Wilksch (Horsahm CC)
2 Richard England (Blackburn CC)
3 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn CC)
4 Leigh De Luca (Noble Park - Dandenong CC)
Motor Pace
1 Todd Wilksch (Horsahm CC)
2 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Richard England (Blackburn CC)
Points Score
1 Richard England (Blackburn CC)
2 Justin Davis (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn CC)

B Grade - 17 Starters

1 Peter Ballas (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Aaron Moody (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Catherine Allen (Blackburn CC)
4 Eddie Perez (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Motor Pace
1 Aaron Moody (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Peter Ballas (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Eddie Perez (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Points Score
1 Russell Poole (Blackburn CC)
2 Michael Goldie (Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Eddie Perez (Carnegie Caulfield CC)


Race 1
1 Courtney Hicks (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
2 Arron Eynavd (Blackburn CC)
3 Chris Perkins (Blackburn CC)
4 Peter Vlahos (Blackburn CC)
Race 2
1 Arron Eynavd (Blackburn CC)
2 Peter Vlahos (Blackburn CC)
3 Jack Hickey (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
Previous Australian Results