Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Maryborough CC

November 22, 2002

By Robyn McLeish

Riders treated spectators to an entertaining display of close racing on Friday night. A strong field of vets worked hard all night, but the feature race was undoubtedly their scratch race.

With three laps to go Bob Stockwell from Bundaberg made a strong move off the front and had the field stretched out like a rubber band. He was unable to maintain the intensity so the bunch reformed ensuring a sprint finish. Lloyd Cosgrove led them out with a lap and a half to go. George and Ron Wroe were well positioned ready to make their move in the final two hundred metres but Trev Geysing surprised them all rounding them up around the outside to take the money. Nev Ransome, in only his first meeting, made up a lot of ground in the final lap to place fourth while Ron and George filled second and third respectively.

A, B and C grade combined for a twenty five lap scratch race to conclude the evening. Clint Johnson and Camiele Denis (Holland's Junior road race champion) set the track alight with an awesome display of attacking riding. Clint attacked soon after the start and had Michael Wroe in trouble. Camiele showed why he is a national champion and set a fast tempo to close down Clint's attacks. At the bell the pace picked up and Camiele had the front position. He set himself up for the sprint home but Clint had far too much fire power and scorched over the final two hundred metres to take the flag ten metres ahead. Tim Wiseman rode well to take third place and Peter Ransome held in to take forth.


A B & C Combined 4 Lap Derby
1 C. Jonhson
2 T. Wiseman
3 M. Wroe
4 P. Ransome
Vets 4 Lap Derby
1 T. Geysing
2 R. Wroe
3 G. Wroe
4 K. James
Junior 4 Lap Derby
1 M. Cartwright
2 L. Cosgrove
3 D. Kemps
4 Q. Miller
A B & C 1000M Combined H/C
1 C. Johnson
2 M. Wroe
3 T. Wiseman
4 P. Ransome
Vets 1000M H/C
1 N. Aylen
2 R. Etchell
3 G. Wroe
4 I. Johnson
Junior 1000M H/C
1 Q. Miller
2 C. Cosgrove
3 D. Kemps
4 M. Cartwright
A B & C Combined 2000M H/C
1 C. Johnson
2 T. Wiesman
3 M. Wroe
4 C. Denis
Vets 2000M H/C
1 G. Wroe
2 I. Johnson
3 L. Cosgrove
4 R. Rodgers
Junior 1000M H/C (2nd Race)
1 Q. Miller
2 M. Cartwright
3 D. Kemps
4 L. Cosgrove
Junior 8 Lap Scratch Race
1 M. Cartwright
2 Q. Miller
3 D. Kemps
4 L. Cosgrove
Vets 15 Lap Scratch Race
1 T. Geysing
2 R. Wroe
3 G. Wroe
4 N. Ransome
A/B/C Combined 25 Lap Scratch Race
1 C. Johnson
2 T. Wiseman
3 C. Denis
4 P. Ransome
5 D. Keevers
6 M. Wroe
Previous Australian Results