Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Mersey Valley - Devonport CC

Mersey Valley, Tas, November 19, 2002

By Rod Morris

Scratchmen Gareth Atkins started the final tune-up to his preparation for the Telstra Country Wide Tasmanian Christmas Carnivals with two top hit outs at this week's Mersey Valley - Devonport Cycling Club's meeting. Atkins scored two powerful wins, a second and a hard fought fourth placing in the 2000 m handicap. One of his wins was in the Open Keirin Club Championship, the title he has won for the last two years and is the odds-on favourite to win again this season.

In the keirin, Atkins was easily the most impressive of the six qualifiers and then in the final held off the challenges of Stephen Pearce, his older brother Matthew Atkins, reigning St Helens Wheel winner Ben Elliott and former Burnie Wheel champ, Fred Guilbert. Atkins doubled up in the final event of the programme, a 6000 m scratch, where he pipped Latrobe's Nathan Clarke right on the finish line. Clarke, who earlier in the night had won the 3000 m handicap, has just returned from competing in the VicRoads Herald Sun Tour and is now trying to find his track racing legs. The opening senior event was a 200 m handicap, won by David Oliver ahead of Josh Simpson and Elliott. In junior racing, the more impressive youngsters included Alex Holden, Andrew Dolan, Kaidan Homan and Sarah Eaves.

The MVDCC will conduct club racing each Tuesday night up till Christmas and again on January 7 and 14. The club will also host the Devonport Trial Wheel - a 3000 m handicap - on December 17, just nine days before the Latrobe Boxing Day Carnival, which signals the official start of the Telstra Country Wide Christmas Carnivals.


Open 2000 m Handicap

1 David Oliver (130)
2 Josh Simpson (120)
3 Ben Elliott (100) 
4 Gareth Atkins (scr)

Open 3000 m Handicap

1 Nathan Clarke (scr)
2 Gareth Atkins (scr)
3 Stephen Pearce (60)
4 Daniel Cutting (50)

Open Scratch 

Gareth Atkins 
Nathan Clarke 
Stephen Pearce 
Ben Elliott 

Open Keirin Club Championship: 

Gareth Atkins 
Stephen Pearce 
Matthew Atkins 
Ben Elliott 
Fred Guilbert 
Josh Simpson 

Junior 1 Scratch: 

Jarrod Harman 
Matthew Bonham 
Kaidan Homan 

Junior 1 2000 m Handicap:
Kaidan Homan (30) 
Matthew Bonham (30) 
Jarrod Harman (30) 

Junior 1 1000 m Handicap: 

Matthew Bomham (50) 
Natasha Mapley (100)
Jarrod Harman (40) 

Junior 2 Scratch: 

Alex Holden 
Angela Klyne 
Sarah Eaves 

Junior 2 2000 m Handicap: 

Angela Klyne (200) 
Sarah Eaves (200)
Carrie Price (200)

Junior 2 1000 m Handicap: 

Alex Holden (scr) 
Angela Klyne (50) 
Sarah Eaves (50) 

Junior 3 Scratch: 

Brendan Sutton 
Andrew Dolan 
Jason Bounday 

Junior 3 1000 m Handicap (1): 

Jacob Fielding (130) 
Brendan Sutton (scr)
Andrew Dolan (60)

Junior 3 1000 m Handicap (2): 

Andrew Dolan (100) 
Jack Stokes (160) 
Brendan Sutton (scr)

Junior 3 1-lap Dash: 

Andrew Dolan (50)
Jack Stokes (80)
Brendan Sutton (scr)
Previous Australian Results