Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Devonport Athletic Club Track Carnival

December 1, 2002

From Rod Morris in Devonport

With a severe shortage of backmarkers, it was "fronties day out" at the Devonport Athletic Club's annual early-December Carnival on Sunday.

Frontmarker Ryan Johnson of Launceston made the most of the situation, scoring a solid win in the 2000 m Oval Wheelrace, holding off a strong challenge by talented junior Wes Sulzberger, who has opted to compete in open company earlier than his mandatory age promotion on January 1. Johnson qualified for the final after finishing second in his heat behind Jason Bellchambers.

Handicapped off 200 m, Johnson set himself in a sound position throughout the final and had enough in reserve to pip Sulzberger on the line in one of the closest finishes of the day.

Third home was another Launceston based rider, Dwayne "Kenny" Smith, with Bellchambers holding up the face of North-West Coast riders by taking fourth place.

Earlier in the programme, Burnie's Michael Johnson won the 1000 m Lightning Handicap ahead of Launceston veteran Laurie Venn and the luckless Sulzberger.

In open racing, Devonport's Gareth Atkins was in good form, winning three races, the derby, elimination and A Grade Scratch, while Ryan Johnson won the B Grade Scratch.


Oval Wheelrace 2000 m
1 Ryan Johnson (200)      2.17.94
2 Wes Sulzberger (180)
3 Dwayne Smith (230)
4 Jason Bellchambers (220)
Other finalists
Laurie Venn
Michael Johnson
Fred Guilbert
Kharne Hammersley
Gareth Atkins
Nathan Clarke
Karl Menzies
Jason Johnson
Matthew Goss
Adam Hartley
Brett Lehman
1000 m Handicap
1 Michael Johnson (95)    1.09.00
2 Laurie Venn (80)
3 Wes Sulzberger (90)
Nathan Hingston (95) 4
Other finalists
Trent Deacon
Jason Bellchambers
Adam Hartley
Andrew Loft
Fred Guilbert
David Oliver
Grant Young
Karl Menzies
Ryan Johnson
Colin Barnes
Brett Lehman
Invitation Derby
1 Gareth Atkins             12.35 (last 200 m)
2 Nathan Clarke
3 Grant Young
Invitation Elimination
1 Gareth Atkins             15.64 (last 200 m)
2 Karl Menzies
3 Nathan Clarke
A Grade Scratch
1 Gareth Atkins           7.42.11
2 Laurie Venn
3 Nathan Clarke
B Grade Scratch
1 Ryan Johnson            5.09.51
2 Adam Hartley
3 Trent Deacon
Junior 1 1000 m Handicap
1 Matthew Bonham (60)     1.15.19
2 Jarrod Harman (50)
3 Tim Walker (20)
Junior 2 1000 m Handicap
1 Angela Klyne (90)       1.19.54
2 Nick Kaine (80)
3 Carrie Price (110)
Junior 3 1000 m Handicap
1 Jason Bounday (140)     1.25.70
2 Jacob Fielding (180)
3 Bethany Coleman (130)
Junior 1 2000 m Handicap
1 Kaidan Homan (120)      2.37.75
2 Tim Walker (80)
3 Matthew Bonham (120)
Junior 2 2000 m Handicap
1 Sean Oliver (140)       2.42.00
2 Angela Klyne (180)
3 Clay Murfett (100)
Junior 3 1000 m Handicap
1 Bethany Coleman (130)   1.27.00
2 Jason Bounday (140)
3 Joseph Bodis (140)
Junior 1 Scratch
1 Cameron Flint           5.19.97
2 Jarrod Harman
3 Kaidan Homan
Junior 2 Scratch
1 Will Robinson           3.46.32
2 Alex Holden
3 Sean Oliver
Junior 3 Scratch
1 Brendon Sutton          2.23.47
2 David Lyons
3 Matt Laskey
Previous Australian Results