Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

New Zealand National Track Cycling Championships - IM

Invercragill, New Zealand, March 13-17, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 6 - March 15: Evening session,

World record smashed as national records continue to fall

17 year-old Southlander Eddie Dawkins nearly caused the crowd to bring the ILT velodrome down on his way to setting a new national and under 19 1000m time trial record on day 3 of the Lion Foundation national track cycling championships. Dawkins time of 1.03.700 was just two seconds off the junior 19 world record, and four seconds faster than the previous under 19 national record. His time was over a second faster than Hayden Godfrey's previous national record time of 1.04.822.

Earlier in the evening Natasha Hansen picked up her second gold medal in record time in the under 19 girl's 1000 metre time trial to claim her second record for the event so far.

Catherine Cheatley won her first medal of the championships winning the women's 3000m individual pursuit ahead of Dale Tye and Josie Giddens. Meanwhile Canterbury's Darren Shea claimed the mens 4000m individual pursuit.

So far 13 national records have been broken.

Auckland's Donna Wynd set a world record in the 45-49 age group in the women's 500m time trial with a time of 38.206 beating the world record time of 39.640 set by Linelle Betts of the USA set in Manchester in 2001.


Athletes with Disability women 500m time trial

1 Fiona Southorn (Auckland)
2 Paula Tesoriero (Wellington)
Athletes with Disability Women's 1000m tandem time trial

1 Jayne Parsons/Michelle Laurenson (West Coast North Island)
2 Neelusha Memon and Annaliisa Farrell (Canterbury)
Athletes with Disability men's time trial

1 Waine Harding (Southland)
2 Nick Bailey (West Coast North Island)
3 Wayne Beckett (Southland)
Junior under 19 men's time trial

1 Eddie Dawkins  (Southland)                              1.03.70
2 Jason Christie (Mid - South Canterbury)                 1.07.37
3 Alex Cull (Auckland)                                    1.07.89
Elite Women's 3000m individual pursuit

1 Cahtherine Cheatley (West Coast North Island)           3.51.66
2 Dale Tye (Nelson-Marlborough)                           3.53.74
3 Josie Giddens Mid-South (Canterbury)                    4.01.70
Elite Men's 4000m individual pursuit

1 Darren Shea (Canterbury)                                4.35.36
2 Shane Melrose (Otago)                                   4.43.10
3 James Fairweather (Mid-South Canterbury)                4.43.51
Junior under 15 girl's 750m Derby

1 Amy OPearce (Otago)
2 Sophie Wlliamson (Southland)
3 Soren Adiar (Canterbury)
Junior under 15 boys 750m derby

1 Pieter Bulling (Southland)
2 Mathew Noble (Auckland)
3 Patrick Jones (Otago)
Junior under 17 boy's 515m scratch

1 Sam Webster (Auckland)
2 Matt Vermount (Southland)
3 Patrick Williamson (Southland)

Masters Cat 2 8km Points race

1 Ray Dunstan (Otago)
2 Murray Steele (Canterbury)
3 Mike Lormans (Otago)
Masters Cat 1 10km points race

1 Neil Cleghorn (Southland)
2 Jerard Stock (Southland)
3 Gary Gardiner (Otago)
Women's 500m time trial

1 Fiona Carswell (Canterbury)                              35.142
2 Jocelyn Rastrick (Canterbury)                            35.764
3 Elisabeth Williams (Auckland)                            36.961

Men's 1000m time trial

1 Justin Grace (Auckland)
2 Pete Murray (Canterbury)
3 Simon van Velthooven (West Coast North Island)
Under 17 girl's 8km points race

1 Sarah Martin (Auckland)