Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

New Zealand National Track Cycling Championships - IM

Invercragill, New Zealand, March 13-17, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 4 - March 14: Evening session

Hot sprint finales on night two

The second night of the 2007 national track championships was highlighted by a series of dramatic sprint finals. Canterbury riders Fiona Carswell, Jocelyn Rastrick and Juliet Earle took out the top three places in the elite womens sprint final, with Earle in a rare dead heat with the fourth place getter Donna Wynd from Auckland in the second of the four finals that were required to determine the bronze medal position.

The elite mens race was equally exciting, with Justin Grace narrowly retaining his sprint national champion title in a close best of three final against new national record holder Nathan Seddon. Adam Stewart was third after Simon Van Velthooven was disqualified in the semi final.

Possibly the most exciting final was the mens under 19 sprint. Auckland's Myron Simpson narrowly bet local favourite Eddie Dawkins 2-1 in the best of three final. Simpson and Dawkins were neck and neck in all three finals, but Simpson, who set a new U19 record in the morning session, was just too good.

Topping of a great night for Canterbury sprinters, Natasha Hansen totally outclassed her competitors to take out the under 19 women's sprint title.

The third national record of the day was set by Sarah Gilkinson in the under 17 girl's 2000m individual pursuit with a time of 2.41.944 beating Catherine Cheatley's former record time of 2.42.054 set in 1999. In the morning session Simpson and Hansen set new under 19 men and women sprint national records.

The last race of the day was the glamour event of the night - the women's 8000m scratch, was marred by an accident that saw Melissa Holt crash with three laps to go. A top class field of New Zealand's best female cyclists, with the exception of Ali Shanks who is in Spain training for the world championships, assembled. The lead changed throughout the race with defending champion Tammy Boyd making an early break, but it was Canterbury's Fiona Carswell who took the win.


Junior Under 15 girls 5km Points

1 Sophie Williamson (Southland)              
2 Amy Pearce (Otago)                         
3 Soren Adair (Canterbury)                   
Junior Under 15 boys 8km Points

1 Pieter Bulling (Southland)                 
2 Matthew Noble (West Coast North Island)    
3 Patrick Jones (Otago)                      
Junior Under 19 women Sprint

1 Natasha Hansen (Canterbury)                
2 Jemma Dudley (WCNI)                        
3 Sequoia Cooper (Southland)                 
Junior Under 19 mens Sprint

1 Myon Simpson (Auckland)                    
2 Eddie Dawkins (Southland)                  
3 Hamish Presbury (Southland)                
Masters Cat 1 4000m Scratch

1 Mike Lormans (Otago)                       
2 Ray Robinson (Otago)                       
3 Murray Steele (Canterbury)                 
Masters Cat 2 4000m Scratch

1 Jerard Stock (Southland)                   
2 Geoff Keogh (Otago)                        
3 Manu Robson (Waikato)                      
Womens Sprint final

1 Fiona Carsell (Canterbury)                 
2 Jocelyn Rastrick (Canterbury)              
3 Juliet Earle (Canterbury)                  
Mens Sprint

1 Justin Grace (Auckland)                    
2 Nathan Seddon (Otago)                      
3 Adam Stewart (Canterbury)                  
Under 17 girls 2000m Individual Pursuit

1 Sarah Gilkinson (Auckland)             2.42
2 Sarah Martin (Auckland)                0.00
3 Elizabeth Steel (Canterbury)           0.04
Under 17 boys 2000m Individual Pursuit

1 Ruaraiah McLeod (Canterbury)           2.27
2 Sam Webster (Auckland)                 0.02
3 Chad Adair (Canterbury)                0.02
Women's 8000m Scratch

1 Fiona Carswell (Canterbury)                
2 Elizabeth Williams (Auckland)              
3 Jo Kiesanowski (Canterbury)