Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

New Zealand National Track Cycling Championships - IM

Invercragill, New Zealand, March 13-17, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 3 - March 14: Morning session,

Simpson and Hansen set new benchmarks

National sprint record holder Nathan Seddon (Otago)
Photo ©: BikeNZ
(Click for larger image)

Auckland's Myron Simpson and Canterbury's Natasha Hansen set new national records in the men and women's Under 19 sprint qualifying rounds during the morning session on day two of the Lion Foundation national track cycling championships. Simpson's time of 10.878 beat Southland's Eddie Dawkins previous record set in November 2006. Dawkins, on his home track, was the second fastest qualifier with a time of 11.082, but is capable of going faster in tonight's final.

Natasha Hansen beat Elisabeth Williams' eight year-old record time of 12.524.

The semi finalists in the under 19 sprint will match Myron Simpson and Hamish Presbury (Southland) in one and Dawkins and Daniel Ludlam (Auckland) in the other. The women's under 19 sprint semis will be between Natasha Hansen and Sequoia Copper (Southland) in one and Cathy Jordan (Southland) and Gemma Dudley (West Coast North Island) in the other.

This mornings two records takes the total number of national track records broken so far to nine.

Meanwhile the Under 17 boys 2000m individual pursuit gold medal race will be fought out between Canterbury's Ruaraidh McLeod and Auckland's Sam Webster while the bronze medal race will be between Chad Adair (Canterbury) and Wiremu Kaihau (West Coast North Island).

The elite women's sprint finalists were decided this morning with Fiona Carswell riding off against Joelyn Rastrick (Canterbury) tonight for gold and silver while Juliet Earle and Donna Wynd (Auckland) will ride off for bronze. The men's semi finals will be between Nathan Seddon and Adam Stewart, who both rode for New Zealand at the 2006 Commonwealth Games, in one semi while Justin Grace will take on Simon van Velthooven in the other semi.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by BikeNZ


Men's Under 19 sprint qualifying

1 Myron Simpson                                 10.878

Women's Under 19 sprint qualifying

1 Natasha Hansen