Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

American Velodrome Challenge - NE

California, USA, July 20-21, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings     Next Race

Race 1 - July 20:

Team Momentum sets tone at AVC first night

By Robin Horwitz

Josiah Ng (Momentum Cycling) crossed the line for the men's keirin finals at Hellyer Park Velodrome after pullin ga 40 mph (65 kph) lap to victory ahead of a surprising and powerful Matt Barlee (Fast Twitch).

Ng said, "When I saw the fans all over the place tonight, I was juiced. I really wanted to win the keirin tonight." Ng is planning a flying lap record attempt (18.8 seconds, held by Steve Alfred, on Saturday evening).

Travis Smith (Momentum Cycling) continued with his amazing recovery from a major hip surgery to place third. Team-mate Adam Duvendeck wrapped up the team's domination of keirin events by finishing fourth. Smith said after the race, "I'm really surprised with my speed, but I am thrilled. My recovery's coming along very nicely, and I think I will definitely be ready for the World Cup races."

In the women's keirin, Jennie Reed (Momentum Cycling), a Pan American gold medalist, won the keirin by defeating a superstar-filled field. Becky Quinn (Leader Bikes/ Big City Velo) took second and Anna Lang (Karl Strauss / SDBC) was third.

In the points race, up and coming Shelley Olds of Proman defeated a tough women's field. A happy Olds said, "Proman wanted to control the race -- a tall order against World, National and Pan American champs but we did it!"


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Garrett Lau/garrettlau.smugmug.com

Images by Larry Rosa/www.larryrosa.com


Women's Keirin
1 Jennie Reed (Momentum Cycling)                      
2 Becky Quinn (Leader Bikes/Big City Velo)            
3 Anna Lang (Karl Strauss/SDBC)                       
4 Cari Higgins (Cody Racing)                          
5 Mary Maroon (Rock Lobster)                          
6 Annette Hanson (Avant TiCycles)                     
Women's Points Race
1 Shelley Olds (Proman)                               
2 Becky Quinn (Leader Bikes/Big City Velo)            
3 Jennie Reid (Momentum Cycling)                      
4 Annette Hanson (Avant TiCycles)                     
5 Anna Lang (Karl Strauss/SDBC)                       
6 Mary Maroon (Rock Lobster)                          
Men's Keirin
1 Josiah Ng (Momentum Cycling)                        
2 Matt Barlee (Fast Twitch)                           
3 Travis Smith (Momentum Cycling)                     
4 Adam Duvendeck (Momentum Cycling)                   
5 Bobby Walthour (Team Walthour)                      
6 Giovanni Rey (BPG Montano Velo)                     
7 Kenny Williams (First Rate Mortgage)                
Men's Madison
1 Martorell / Schiller (SBW Racing)                   
2 Suhr / Lutttrell (Cody Racing)                      
3 Evans / Rey (BPG Montano Velo)                      
4 Mendonca / Nolan (AMD-Discovery Channel Masters)    
5 Hernandez / Dunaway (Safeway/GA Communications)     
6 Nevitt / Derdenger (Freedom Chevy/Joe's Pro Bikes)