Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

US National Track Championships - CN

Frisco Superdome, TX September 7-11, 2004

Main Page    Results    Next Day

Day 1 - September 7: Women Pursuit, Men Pursuit, Men Keirin

Elite Track Nationals heat up opening night

By USA Cycling

Marty Nothstein
Photo ©: Mike Gladu
Click for larger image

Bobby Lea (Taneytown, Md.) and Annette Hanson (Kirkland, Wash.) claimed the gold medals in last night’s individual pursuit finals, while Marty Nothstein (Orefield, Pa.) took the top honor in the men’s keirin at the USCF Elite Track National Championships. After posting the fastest time in yesterday’s qualifying round, Bobby Lea successfully defended his 2003 national title by besting Kenneth Williams for the win, while Curtis Gunn (Tuscon, Ariz.) defeated 2004 Olympian Colby Pearce (Boulder, Colo.) to take the bronze.

The top qualifier also took the victory in the women’s event, as Hanson beat Nancy Lux (Clyde, N.C.) for her top spot on the podium. In the bronze medal race, it was 2003 Junior World Champion Larssyn Staley (Beaverton, Ore.) who posted the win over Natalie Klemko (Bristol, Wis.)

2004 Olympian Marty Nothstein claimed top honors in the men’s keirin last night, by defeating silver medalist Andy Lakatosh (Trexlertown, Pa.) and bronze medalist Robert Lindstrom (St. Paul, Minn.). Annette Hanson claimed gold in the women's pursuit.


Images by Mike Gladu/www.velodrome.com

  • Stephen Alfred shakes off the effects of a spill during pre-keirin warm-up session.
  • Erin Mirabella receives her 2004 Olympic Points Race Bronze Medal from Frisco's Mayor Mike Simpson.
  • Erin Mirabella glows for the crowd, showing off her Olympic Bronze Medal from the Points Race.
  • Marty Nothstein drives the pace in the qualifying heats of the Keirin, with Christian Stahl on his wheel and Robert Lindstrom searching for room below.
  • Natalie Klemko on her way to 4th in the Women's Individual Pursuit.
  • Larssyn Staley claimed the Bronze Medal over Klemko in the Pursuit Finals.
  • Annette Hanson brings home her first Elite Championship in the Pursuit after numerous National and World Masters titles.
  • Nancy Lux came out of the gate fast but could not hold off Hanson in the Gold Medal Pursuit Final
  • Jame Carney fights to hold onto a top-three placing in the Keirin Semi-Final, to transfer with Kevin Belz (top L) and Robert Lindstrom (bottom R), eliminating one of the favorites - Stephen Alfred (Top R).
  • Joel Kelly gets some medical attention after a spill took him out of his Keirin Semi-Final heat.
  • Colby Pearce batlled with Gunn for fourth in the Men's Individual Pursuit.
  • Curtis Gunn had to fight off a late surge by Colby Pearce to take the Bronze Medal Pursuit Final
  • Curtis Gunn celebrates his win the Bronze Medal Pursuit Final vs Colby Pearce.
  • Kenny Williams could not by Bobby Lea in the Gold Medal Pursuit Final.
  • Bobby Lea skipped defending his National Kilometer title in return for a Gold Medal Performance in the Individual Pursuit.
  • Jame Carney in the Keirin Final.
  • Marty Nothstein sits fourth wheel behind the pacer in the Keirin Final.
  • Robert Lindstrom came back from an extremely exfoliating spill in the pre-race warm-ups to make the Keirin Final.
  • Andy Lakatosh holds onto lead position in the last lap in the Keirin Final.
  • Marty Nothstein powers over the top to claim the Gold Medal over Lakatosh (R), Lindstrom (hidden, back), and Kevin Belz (R) in the Keirin Final.
  • Nothstein celebrates his Keirin victory.
  • Nothstein is all smiles after taking the Gold Medal in the Keirin.
  • Annette Hanson atop the Women's Pursuit podium with Klemko (4th), Lux (2nd), Staley (2) and Shannon Koch (5th).
  • Bobby Lea atop the Men's Pursuit Finals, with Colby Pearce (far L), Kenny Williams (L), Lea (center), Curtis Gunn (Near R) and Mike Friedman (far R).
  • Espoir Medalists from the Pursuit Finals - Zac Ford (4th), Friedman (3rd) Lea (1st), Kerkhof (3rd).
  • Keirin Podium (L to R) Kevin Belz, Andy Lakatosh, Marty Nothstein, Robert Lindstrom, Christian Stahl.

Morning Session

  • Men Pursuit Qualification
  • Women Pursuit Qualification

Evening Session

  • Men Keirin Heats
  • Women Pursuit Final
  • Men Keirin Repechage
  • Women Sprint Qualification (Top 12)
  • Men Keirin Round 2
  • Women Sprint Round 1
  • Men Pursuit Final
  • Women Sprint Repechage
  • Men Keirin


Men's Pursuit qualifications and final results

1 Robert Lea (T.E.A.M. Fuji)                             04:44.5
2 Kenneth Williams (First Rate Morgage)                  04:47.5
3 R Curtis Gunn (Veloworx Racing)                        04:48.6
4 Colby Pearce (TIAA-CREF/5280)                          04:51.3
5 Michael Friedman (NERAC.COM)                           04:56.3
6 Douglas Beck (Unattached)                              04:58.2
7 David Wenger (Sharper Image/Mathis Brothers)           04:59.8
8 Joshua Kerkhof (Team Rubicon/United)                   05:03.0
9 Marcus Black (Cody Racing)                             05:06.3
10 K Benjamin Richter (University of Minnesota)          05:07.6
11 Zachary Ford (Team Biycles Inc.)                      05:08.6
12 Randy Smargiassi (Gotham Cyclists)                    05:09.1
13 Kevin Anderberg (TREK/VW/RBM)                         05:14.7
14 Jimmy Tart (Cole Sport)                               05:23.4
15 Jason Romain (People's Burn Foundation)               05:23.6
16 John Wright (Wolf Pack Bicycle Club)                  05:47.0

Women Pursuit qualifications and final results
1 Annette Hanson (Team Rubicon/United)                   03:59.4
2 Nancy Lux (Asheville Women's Cycling)                  04:02.2
3 Larssyn Staley (Hot Tubes Development)                 04:05.8
4 Natalie Klemko (ABD Cycling Team)                      04:09.5
5 Shannon Koch (Team LaS'port)                           04:10.5

Men's Keirin final
1 Marty Nothstein
2 Andrew Lakatosh
3 Robert Lindstrom
4 Kevin Belz
5 Christian Stahl
6 James Carney
7 Ryan Nelman
8 Aaron Kacala
9 Julian Cushing
10 Joel Kelly