Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

US National Track Championships - CN

Frisco Superdome, TX September 7-11, 2004

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 2 - September 8: Team Pursuit, Men Kilometer TT, Women Sprint

Nerac.com, Quist and Conzelman take Gold

By USA Cycling

Best time in qualifying
Photo ©: Mike Gladu
Click for larger image

Wednesday night competition at the Superdrome crowned new national champions in three events. NERAC.com took the crown in the team pursuit, while Becky Conzelman posted the win in the women’s sprint finals and Anton Quist claimed gold in the men’s kilo.

In last night’s team pursuit, the top seeds from the morning qualifying round held their positions in the finals. Riders Colby Pearce (Boulder, Colo.), James Carney (Durango, Colo.), Robert Lea (Taneytown, Md.), and Guillaume Nelessen (Bellemead, N.J.) of NERAC.com took the top honor with a 4:31.9. Douglas Beck (Maynard, Ohio), Curtis Gunn (Tuscon, Ariz.), Julian Cushing (Philadelphia, Pa.), and Kenneth Williams (Kirkland, Wash.) of Team Veloworx posted a 4:36.4 to earn the silver medal, while Marcus Black (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Randy Smargiassi (Crofton, Md.), Carter Allgood (Colorado Springs, Colo.), and Ryan Luttrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.) of Cody Racing took the bronze. Anton Quist (Arlington, Va.) posted the fastest time to become the new national champion in the kilo, while Jonas Carney (Winter Park, Colo.) claimed silver and Kenneth Williams (Kirkland, Wash.) posted the bronze medal time.

The women’s sprint finals saw Becky Conzelman (Allentown, Pa.) win the national championship title ahead of silver medalist Suzanne Goodwin (Plano, Texas) and bronze medalist Jamie Pettinato (Emmaus, Pa.)


Images by Mike Gladu/www.velodrome.com

Day 2 - Wednesday, September 8: Morning Session

  • Team Pursuit Qualification
  • Women Sprint 1/4 Final Ride #1
  • Women Sprint 9th-12th Final
  • Women Sprint 1/4 Final Ride #2
  • Women Sprint 1/4 Final Ride #3

Day 2 - Wednesday, September 8: Evening Session

  • Women Sprint Semi Final Ride #1
  • Women Sprint 5th - 8th Final
  • Women Sprint Semi Final Ride #2
  • Team Pursuit Final
  • Women Sprint Semi Final Ride #3
  • Awards
  • Men Kilometer TT Final
  • Women Sprint Final Ride #1
  • Awards
  • Women Sprint Final Ride #2
  • Women Sprint Final Ride #3
  • Awards


Team pursuit qualification

1 NERAC.com                                                04:38.0
2 Veloworx                                                 04:57.1
3 Cody Racing                                              05:04.0
4 Midwestern State University                              05:09.9
5 Frisco Cycling                                           05:44.9

Team Pursuit Final
1 Colby Pearce NERAC.com                                   04:31.9
1 James Carney NERAC.com
1 Robert Lea NERAC.com
1 Guillaume Nelessen NERAC.com
2 Douglas Beck   Veloworx                                  04:36.4
2 R Curtis Gunn Veloworx
2 Julian Cushing Veloworx
2 Kenneth Williams Veloworx
3 Marcus Black Cody Racing                                 05:04.0
3 Randy Smargiassi Cody Racing
3 Carter Allgood Cody Racing
3 Ryan Luttrell Cody Racing
4 Dominic VanNielen   Midwestern State University          caught
4 David Van Akkeren Midwestern State University
4 Zachary Ford Midwestern State University
4 Kevin Suhr Midwestern State University

Women's Sprint - Final Classification

1 Rebecca Conzelman
2 Suzanne Goodwin
3 Jamie Pettinato
4 Martha Dunne
5 Christi Chenowth
6 Tela Crane

Men's Kilo

1 Anton Quist (Evolution Cycling Team)
2 Jonas Carney (Jelly Belly)
3 Kenneth Williams (First Rate Morgage)
4 Michael Friedman (NERAC.COM)
5 Timo Budarz (Bike Wave)
6 Christopher Henderson (Taylor Made)
7 Antony Galvan (DBL/BBBS)
8 Joel Kelly (Duke Realty)
9 K Benjamin Richter (University of Minnesota)
10 Gregory Pshsnychniak (Ranchos)
11 Michael Lifshotz (Toshiba/Big Wheel)
12 Dominic VanNielen (Midwestern State Uni)
13 Jimmy Tart (Cole Sport)
14 Jason Romain (People's Burn Foundation)
15 Paul Sollenberger (Frisco Cycling Club)
16 Kevin Anderberg (TREK/VW/RBM)
17 Randy Smargiassi (Gotham Cyclists)
18 Brent Kay (Eddiebcycling.com)
19 David Van Akkeren (Southern Elite/MSU)
20 Aaron Crum (MSU/HHH)
21 Sean TOMPKINS (Unattached)
22 John Wright (Wolf Pack Bicycle Club)
23 Carter Allgood (East Side Wheelmen)
24 Kevinn Matthews (Unattached)