Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Queensland Grand Prix Series

Chandler velodrome, October 30, 2004

MB Coaching narrows the gap

Kangaroo Point still on top

All Saturday it looked like raining until the clouds drifted away about 4:00 pm, so it was a surprise when the first rain fell just before the last qualifying round of the teams pursuit. When the meeting was called off before the men's keirin there were some pretty disappointed sprinters packing their kit away.

Nonetheless, the Office Zone round of the Grand Prix Series was well attended, with two current Masters Track World Champions riding (Julie Barnett and Jayson Austin) and Chris Scott, multiple gold medalist from the Athens Paralympic Games a strong addition to the Gel Tech Nails Country Allstars pursuit team. Miles Olman's absence meant that there were ten or more riders who expected to line up as favourites in the points race at the end of the night.

The only events completed in the men's Grand Prix Series were the team sprint and the team pursuit. The team sprint saw the Broncos team edge ahead of the highly favoured Kangaroo Point team, with a pretty rapid time of 1:13.63 for the 357 m, shallow-banked bitumen circuit. Gel-Tech Nails Country Allstars held Uni out to take third place. In the team pursuit, MB coaching dominated, using an unusual tactic in qualifying and in the final. Chris Chatto, known for a fast kilo, led out at a very rapid pace before pulling out after only two and a half laps, leaving Jayson Austin, Brendan O 'Connell and Adam Tully to slog out the last two and a half thousand meters. Second through to fourth places were all within a second. State champions University rode well but were handicapped by a stupid second last lap from veteran rider Nick Jonsson that ultimately cost them a place in the ride-off for first. Final result was MB, Gel Tech, C.A.T.S. then Uni. The times were slower than expected, although it's early in the season. Hopefully they will improve during the series.

Women's racing was again close and highly competitive, with Masters Sprint World Champion Julie Barnett clearly the fastest sprinter on the night, winning the sprint derby and charging home strongly to just miss out on the 3 lap handicap, won by Terese McAuliffe. The progressive points race over 10 laps is usually a short and interesting race where the first rider across the line on each lap receives the same number of points as the lap number, meaning that the clever riders save something for the later stages and the sprints become increasingly competitive with each lap. Not this time, though, as Anouska Edwards scurried off on a solo breakaway mid race and not a single rider chased her. Forty points to Edwards, 12 to Courtney Le Lay and 2 to Julie Barnett.

Men's support events were limited to the sprint derby, taken out by Adam Simonelli of Broncos in a very close race from Byron Davis of Kangaroo Point and Hayden Josefski, and the 5-lap handicap that veteran Kiwi rider Jeff Harris took out with his characteristic lightning finish from Simonelli. The wily Harris started a little slowly from the 20 m mark, quickly letting the scratchers past for a sustained lead-out.


GP Track Series Team Sprint Qualifying
1 Broncos                                          1.14.25
2 Kangaroo Point                                   1.14.28
3 Gel-Tech Nails Country Allstars                  1.16.29
4 University                                       1.17.76
5 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                1.18.57
6 MB Coaching                                      1.19.90
7 Alpha Sport - Piave Cycles                       1.21.80
MB Coaching Women's GP Series Sprint Derby Heat 1
1 Anouska Edwards (Rockhampton)
2 Tania Shipton (HPR)
3 Nicole Hansen (Lifecycle)
MB Coaching Women's GP Series Sprint Derby Heat 2
1 Julie Barnett (Goldstars)
2 Kim Hansen (Lifecycle)
3 Terese McCauliffe
MB Coaching Women's GP Series Sprint Derby Heat 3
1 Jessica Burns
2 Courtney Lelay
3 Zoe Appel
GP Track Series Team Sprint Final 3rd and 4th
1 Gel-Tech Nails Country Allstars                  1.16.58
2 University                                       1.17.45
GP Track Series Team Sprint Final 1st and 2nd
1 Broncos                                          1.13.63
2 Kangaroo Point                                   1.14.97
Tyrepower Morningside Mens 3 lap sprint derby heat 1
1 Sean Caskey
2 Glen Balaban
3 Daniel Peach
Tyrepower Morningside Mens 3 lap sprint derby heat 2
1 Byron Davis
2 Hayden Josefski
3 Hayden Francis
Tyrepower Morningside Mens 3 lap sprint derby heat 3
1 Adam Simonelli
2 Jeff Harris
3 Arch Davis
GP Track Series Team Pursuit 4 riders - 9 laps 3200 m
1 MB Coaching                                      3.55.89
2 Gel-Tech Nails Country Allstars                  4.00.86
3 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                4.01.69
4 University                                       4.01.71
5 Broncos                                          4.03.58
6 Kangaroo Point                                   4.05.88
7 Alpha Sport - Piave Cycles                       4.13.13
MB Coaching Women's GP Series Sprint Derby Final
1 Julie Barnett
2 Anouska Edwards
3 Courtney Lelay
4 Jessica Burns
Tyrepower Morningside Mens Sprint Derby Final
1 Adam Simonelli
2 Byron Davis
3 Hayden Josefski
4 Jeff Harris
GP Series Team Pursuit 4 riders - 9 laps 
Final m 3rd and 4th
1 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                3.56.76
2 University                                       3.58.37
GP Series Team Pursuit 4 riders - 9 laps 3200 m
1 MB Coaching                                      3.53.50
2 Gel-Tech Nails Country Allstars                  3.58.93
MB Coaching Women's GP Series 3 lap handicap
1 Terese McAuliffe
2 Julie Barnett
3 Kathie Griggs
Tyrepower Morningside Mens 5 lap handicap
1 Jeff Harris
2 Adam Simonelli
3 Ben Holmes
MB Coaching Women's GP 10 lap progressive points
1 Anouska Edwards
2 Courtney Lelay
3 Julie Barnett
Overall Standings for the Men's GP Series
1 Kangaroo Point                                       980 pts
2 MB Coaching                                          600
3 Gel Tech Nails Country Allstars                      510
4 Broncos                                              340
5 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                    185
6 University of Queensland (Uni)                       160
7 Alpha Sport - Piave Cycles

Local results 2004