Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Tasmanian Pointscore Championships

Launceston Silverdome - Launceston, Tasmania, November 25, 2004

By David Oliver

Junior World Champion Matt Goss has continued his terrific recent form to take out the Tasmanian Mens Pointscore Championship at the Launceston Silverdome on Thursday night. The 85 lap race with 12 sprints attracted 17 riders, with the cream of Tasmanian track riders competing for the prestigious title.

Flowery Gully cyclist Bernard Sulzberger, Latrobe's Nathan Clarke and Hobart's Stephen Rossendell were all prominent in the early sprints, while Evandale's Ryan Sullivan was attacking persistently, attempting to gain a lap on the field. Midway through the race a potent group of Clarke, Goss, Sulzberger and Ulverstone's Ben Price charged clear, quickly building a healthy lead over the chasing bunch. The foursome continued to gain ground, and eventually lapped the field, giving them 20 bonus points and effectively putting the rest of the riders out of contention. Goss was consistenly picking up points as the race neared its conclusion, with Clarke and Sulzberger his main challengers. Price took the honours in the final sprint, but Goss' lead was too great and he took the gold by 18 points ahead of Sulzberger, with Clarke taking bronze.

Louise Yaxley took out the Womens Championship over 65 laps with a strong ride after a group of four riders gained two laps on the field. Yaxley, Laura McCaughey, Grace Sulzberger and Natasha Mapley all jumped clear in the early stages and picked up a lap in very little time. Three riders fell during a sprint and the four breakaways got clear again, soon lapping the field for the second time. The hot pace caught up with McCaughey, who dropped out, leaving Yaxley to win comfortably in the open section, while Sulzberger and Mapley battled out the Under 19 category; Sulzberger eventually took the gold.

In other events, Dwayne Smith showed a good burst of speed to defeat his fellow frontmarkers and take out the Open 2000m handicap, while Gareth Atkins finished strongly over Ben Price to take the A grade scratch race. Jake Laskey (Under 13) and Peter Loft (Under 15) were dominant in junior events, both winning all three races in their division. Daniel Jamieson and Tom Robinson were the pick of the Under 17 riders.


Tasmanian Mens Pointscore Championship
1 Matt Goss (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)             54 pts
2 Bernard Sulzberger (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)    36
3 Nathan Clarke (Derrico Cycles)              35
4 Ben Price (Craig Price Cyclery)             31
5 Stephen Rossendell (Praties)                22
6 Ryan Sullivan (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)         16
7 Mark Jamieson (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)          5
8 Kharne Hammersley (Becks Home Hardware)      5
9 Tim Walker (Tom Sawyer Window Cleaning)      5
10 Josh Wilson (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)           5
11 Daniel Cutting (Derrico Cycles)             3
12 Gareth Atkins (Derrico Cycles)              1
13 Dwayne Smith (LCCC)                         1
Tasmanian Womens Pointscore Championship
1 Louise Yaxley (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)           
2 Tarrisha Jones (GTCC)                         
3 Kate Warren (Women's Talent Search)           
Under 19
1 Grace Sulzberger (WTCC)                       
2 Natasha Mapley (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)          
3 Tiffany Manion (WTCC)                         
Club Racing
Open 2000 Metre Handicap
1 Dwayne Smith                                  
2 Ben Laskey                                    
3 Jamie Perry                                   
B Grade 20 lap Scratch Race
1 Jamie Perry                                   
2 Ben Laskey                                    
3 Alex Lyons                                    
A Grade 20 lap Scratch Race
1 Gareth Atkins                                 
2 Ben Price                                     
3 Stephen Rossendell                            
B Grade 12 lap Scratch Race
1 Ben Laskey                                    
2 Colin Barnes                                  
3 Simon Van der Aa                              
Womens 15 lap Scratch Race
1 Louise Yaxley                                 
2 Grace Sulzberger                              
3 Laura McCaughey                               
Womens 2000 Metre Handicap
1 Bethany Coleman                               
2 Carrie Price                                  
3 Allitta Laskey                                
Womens 12 lap Scratch Race
1 Grace Sulzberger                              
2 Louise Yaxley                                 
3 Carrie Price                                  
Under 17 15 lap Scratch Race
1 Tom Robinson                                  
2 Daniel Jamieson                               
3 Alex Holden                                   
Under 17 2000 Metre Handicap
1 Daniel Jamieson                               
2 Tom Robinson                                  
3 Beau Windebank                                
Under 15 10 lap Scratch Race
1 Peter Loft                                    
2 David Lyons                                   
3 Ed Robinson                                   
Under 15 2000 Metre Handicap
1 Peter Loft                                    
2 Ed Robinson                                   
3 Jason Bounday                                 
Under 13 5 lap Scratch Race
1 Jake Laskey                                   
2 Stephen Heppel                                
3 Kodey West                                    
Under 13 1000 Metre Handicap
1 Jake Laskey                                   
2 David Stride                                  
3 Stephen Heppel                                

Local results 2004