Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Queensland Track Grand Prix Series

Chandler, Queensland, November 13, 2004

Lite Bar C.A.T.S. hunt as a pack and the oldest man wins the shortest race

This event, sponsored once again by Lape and Partners, proved to be the best attended round so far. There were 17 women entered in the MB Coaching Women's Track Grand Prix, 40 riders in the teams events and 27 entrants in the men's support races, with a few of the teams riders also backing up for some extra racing. When racing started at 6:00 pm there was not the slightest hint of rain, but plenty of heat and even more humidity - perfect for some fast racing. The first half of the program was a keirin spectacular that saw one motorbike give up and retire. Kangaroo Point confirmed their dominance in this event, all of their riders making it through to the final, in which they took first and third places. The progressive points race was typically fast and dominated by the C.A.T.S. Lite Bar team who rode well as a group and took all of the concluding laps. Peter Herzig from University took enough early points to snare second place. The C.A.T.S Lite Bar pairing of Todd Dawson and Brad Payne rode consistently in the Madison, taking most of the points on offer although they were rolled just on the line in the final sprint by Broncos.

Surprise result of the night was in the inaugural standing start one lap sprint, won by Paul Jackson in 24.77s. Jackson, at 46, was the oldest rider in the teams event, and not expected to do well due to his age and the fact that his bike was built before most of the other riders were born. The use of old tractor parts may also have something to do with this belief. Finally, in the 84 lap points race, C.A.T.S. Lite Bar took the big points, followed by MB Coaching, who took second and third. Women's racing was competitive as usual with the results shared more evenly than previous rounds. Kimberley Hanssen took out the Keirin, Anouska Edwards the Elimination and the 25 lap Scratch Race, while Anna Jones-Perrin won the three lap Handicap. The handicap was dominated by the middle markers Pippa Savage and Anna Jones-Perrin, their handicap reflecting a lack of racing since September - the bunnies managed to stave off the middle markers for one and a half laps before being engulfed, as Savage led the charge for the line but was overhauled in an exciting finish by Jones-Perrin. Scratch rider Anouska Edwards did well to ride onto the back of the main bunch but just didn't have enough time to get to the front.

In the men's support events, three riders took all the places in the first two events. Adam Simonelli of Broncos showed his class early in the evening, blitzing the field with a super-fast finish to the short, 10 lap Tyrepower Morningside Scratch Race and the keirin, with Jeff Harris (Goldstars) finishing a close second in the scratch and third in the kierin. Byron Davis finished third in the scratch and second in the kierin. The men's handicap was won from near the front by Les Heap, making a comeback to track racing. Nick Jonsson, beaten in the 36-lap points race by Jeff Harris remarked after the race - "Yeah I got it wrong. I didn't notice that Harry got the first lot of points in the race and I was enjoying the unusual sensation of following his wheel so much I decided not to sprint."


Tyrepower Morningside Mens 10 lap scratch race
1 Adam Simonelli (Broncos)                                    
2 Jeff Harris (Goldstars)                                     
3 Byron Davis (Kangaroo Point)                                
Grand Prix Track Series Final
1 Christopher Klem (Kangaroo Point)                           
2 Ben Simonelli (Broncos)                                     
3 Daniel Rynne (Kangaroo Point)                               
MB Coaching Women's Grand Prix Series Keirin Final
1 Kimberly Hanssen (Balmoral)                                 
2 Nicole Hanssen (Lifecycle)                                  
3 Anouska Edwards                                             
Tyrepower Morningside Mens Keirin Final
1 Adam Simonelli (Broncos)                                    
2 Byron Davis (Kangaroo Point)                                
3 Jeff Harris (Goldstars)                                     
Grand Prix Track Series 10 lap Progressive Points Race
1 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                           
2 University                                                  
3 Broncos                                                     
4 Gel Tech Country All-Stars                                  
5 MB Coaching                                                 
MB Coaching Women's Grand Prix Series Elimination
1 Anouska Edwards                                             
2 Anna Jones-Perrin                                           
3 Nicole Hanssen                                              
Grand Prix Track Series 30 lap Madison
1 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                           
2 Broncos                                                     
3 Kangaroo Point                                              
4 MB Coaching                                                 
5 University                                                  
MB Coaching Women's Grand Prix Series 3 lap handicap
1 Anna Jones-Perrin                                           
2 Pippa Savage (Lifecycle)                                    
3 Alex Mathewson (Toowoomba)                                  
Tyrepower Morningside Mens 3 Lap Handicap
1 Les Heap                                                    
2 Daniel McCulloch (Ffast)                                    
3 Sean Caskey (Ffast)                                         
Grand Prix Track Series 1 lap standing start
1 Paul Jackson (University)                                   
2 Daniel Rynne (Kangaroo Point)                               
3 Jay Callaghan (Gel Tech Nails Country Allstars)             
4 David Reid (Broncos)                                        
5 Chris Chatto (MB Coaching)                                  
6 Steven George (Alpha Sport/Piave Cycles)                    
7 Glen Ballaban (C.A.T.S. Lite Bar)                           
MB Coaching Women's Grand Prix Series 25 lap Scratch Race
1 Anouska Edwards                                             
2 Nicole Hanssen                                              
3 Anna Jones-Perrin                                           
Tyrepower Morningside Men's 36 lap Points Race
1 Jeff Harris (Goldstars)                                     
2 Nick Jonsson (University)                                   
3 Dean Heathcote (C.A.T.S)                                    
Overall Standings for the Men's Grand Prix Series
1 Kangaroo Point                                          1470 pts
2 MB Coaching                                              850
3 C.A.T.S. Lite Bar                                        725
4 Gel Tech Nails Country Allstars                          600
5 Broncos                                                  580
6 University of Queensland                                 440
7 Alpha Sport - Piave Cycles                                10

Local results 2004