Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Friday Night Winter Track Racing #3

Dunc Gray Velodrome, July 2, 2004

Rowling takes feature wheelrace

By Paul Craft

Week three of the series had a healthy 58 riders competing. Missing from the groups was the majority of the juniors and their parents who had ventured to Canberra for the big Kawalski Junior Tour. Again the night had a large number of FNWTR first timers, so many that next week we will trial a new novice grade. (More info in Wednesdays News letter)

The Feature race for the night was the Australian Sportsbook 1km Div 3 Wheel Race. Amongst the healthy prize list was $90 betting vouchers for the pending Tour De France.

Terry Scarr, started with impressive power to pass the limit riders and go for it alone. By the end of the second lap he had increased his lead over the chasing bunch and it seemed that no-one would come close to catching Terry. However on the last lap all of Terry's fuel had been spent and it looked like he was pedaling backwards. This left the door open for a desperate sprint to the line with Mark Rowling beating Matt Brown by the smallest of margins. Olympian Janelle Lindsay filled the last podium position.

Warwick From Australian SportsBook was on hand to make the presentation and to inform FNWTR patrons of the wide range of betting options. He invited everyone to view the odds for themselves on www.sportsbook.com.au . I would like to thank Australian SportsBook for showing their support.

Round 3 witnessed the always exciting sprint derbies. All eyes were watching the division 1 heat of BJ, Barnard and Hoppy. In a shock result, Barnard taught a lesson in match sprinting and inherited the title of FNWTR sprint champion, that is until next weeks Kierin.

A special feature this week was the Tandem racing. David Short and Janelle Lindsay are venturing to Athens for the Olympics and managed to get some match sprint experience in. The crowd enjoyed the spectacle of tandem sprint which is always fast with an element of risk.

The NSWCF+NSWIS Time Blaster Challenge was won by the well drilled Bicisport team who launched their man BJ out of the pack to secure the $50 prize money in a time of 9minutes 50seconds (45.8km/h) That means the jackpot prize will once again be $50 in one fortnights time.


Round 1
Warm up scratch Motor paced
Div 4B: Darren McNeil
Div 4A: Peter Maiygiomi
Div 3: Jon Brittan
Div 2: Graham McClymont
Div 1: Brett Johnston
Round 2
Group Handicap Div 4b
1 John Awakian
2 Tanya Moss
3 Paul Meehan
4 Paul Regattieri
Group Handicap Div 4A
1 Neil Land
2 Peter Rafferty
3 Teagan Hines
4 Warwick McAlpine
The Australian SportsBook 1km Wheelrace
Div 3
1 Mark Rowling (35m)
2 Matt Brown (40m)
3 Janelle Lindsay (55m)
4 Brad Craft (15m)
Group Handicap Div 2
1 John Deane
2 Hugh Gray
3 David South
4 Roland Lang
Group Handicap Div 1
1 David Short
2 Shaun Hopkins
3 David Browne
4 Phil Dixon
Round 3 Sprint Derby
 Heat 1 Div 4
1 Peter Maiygiomi
2 Tanya Moss
3 Paul Worby
4 Luke Taylor
Heat 2 Div 4
1 Nick Bregolin
2 Peter Flinn
3 Warwick McAlpine
4 Neil Land
Heat 3 Div 4
1 Tanya Bosch
2 Paul Regattieri
3 Alec Lazich
4 Donna Meehan
Heat 4 Div 4
1 Matt Smith
2 Darren McNeil
3 John Awakian
4 Peter Rafferty
Tandem Sprint
1 Short Bolan
2 Dixon Brown
3 Lindsay Skulander
Sprint Derby
Div 3 heat 1
1 Michael Leach
2 Mark Rowling
3 Lief Arnebarth
4 Jon Brittan
Div 3 Heat 2
1 Joel Chant
2 Matt Brown
3 Jason Fraser
4 David Erwins
Div 3 Heat 3
1 Geoff Worthington
2 Brad Craft
3 Scott Mills
4 Alan Townsend
Div 2 Heat 1
1 Ivan Colig
2 Geoff Hopkins
3 Alex Simmons
4 Jim Gray
Div 2 Heat 2
1 Graham McClymont
2 David South
3 Roland Lang
4 Phil McNight
Div 1 Heat 1
1 Phil Stokes
2 Duncan Crosby
3 Michael Popplewell
Div 1 Heat 2
1 Peter Barnard
2 Shaun Hopkins
3 Brett Johnston
Div 1 Heat 3
1 Patrick Bolan
2 David Browne
3 Phil Dixon
Round 4
Winners Race
Div 4
1 Luke Taylor
2 Neil Land
3 Darren McNeil
Div 3
1 Joel Chant
2 Jon Brittan
3 Mark Rowling
4 Michael Leach
Div 2
1 Roland Lang
2 Alex Simmons
3 Jim Gray
4 John Deane
Div 1
1 Phil Dixon
2 Phil Stokes
3 Brett Johnston
4 David Browne
Round 5
Div3 &Div 4 Combine
1 Daniel Grether
2 Joel Chant
3 Michael Leach
4 Mark Rowling
NSWCF+NSWIS Time Blaster Div 1 & Div 2 Combine
1 Brett Johnston                          9.50
2 Duncan Duncan Crosby
3 David South
Local results 2004