Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Tasmanian Points Score Championships

Silverdome, Launceston, February 12, 2004

Clarke wins Tasmanian points title

By David Oliver

Latrobe scratchman Nathan Clarke has taken out the Tasmanian Points Score title in a dominating display at the Silverdome in Launceston on Thursday night. The 40 km, 144 lap event attracted a good field of riders, with points of 5, 3, 2, 1 on offer every seven laps.

The field stayed bunched up in the early going, with Clarke, Bernard Sulzberger, Stephen Rossendell, Brendan Geale and Ryan Johnson consistently picking up points. Just back from the Tour of Canberra, Kharne Hammersley tried to break things up and attacked the field, taking Daniel Cutting with him. The two worked hard out in front but were eventually brought back to the pack.

The field stalled soon after and Hammersley again took the initiative, this time taking Geale and David Oliver with him. This trio was soon joined by three more, Sulzberger, Johnson and Clarke. The group of six worked well together and with some hesitation back in the pack they built a big advantage and lapped the field. This put these six riders in the box seat as they picked up 20 points each for gaining the lap.

Soon after this Rosebery Wheel winner Matthew Atkins and David Oliver jumped clear, picking up valuable points, until they were swallowed up by the bunch, led by Clarke. Josh Wilson had been saving his legs throughout, and broke away solo to pick up points, taking three wins before he was brought back to the bunch. Wilson then kicked clear again to lead out the final sprint and was never headed, crossing the line first followed by Clarke and then Sulzberger.

After the points were tallied Clarke was declared winner ahead of Sulzberger, with Johnson showing his second place in the Austral Wheel was no fluke to take third, in a close finish for the bronze medal with Geale and Hammersley.

Earlier in the evening Launceston Wheel winner Matt Goss rode brilliantly to control the race all way in the Under 19 title. Wes Sulzberger gave the West Tamar cycling club a quinella by finishing second ahead of Ulverstone's Kaidan Homan.


1 Nathan Clarke (Derrico Cycles)                 57 pts
2 Bernard Sulzberger (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)       42
3 Ryan Johnson (Motors/Balls n Bumpers)          36
4 Brendan Geale (Bruno's Bodyworks)              33
5 Kharne Hammersley (Geard Cycles)               33
6 Stephen Rossendell (Praties)                   24
7 Josh Wilson (St Matthias Vineyard)             20
8 Daniel Cutting (Derrico Cycles)                19
9 Matthew Atkins (Fairbrother)                   15
10 Dwayne Smith (Praties Prospect)               11
11 Matt Rice (Geard Cycles)                       5
Under 19
1 Matt Goss (TIS/Cyclingnews.com)               46 pts
2 Wes Sulzberger (West Tamar)                   27
3 Kaidan Homan (Craig Price Cyclery)            22
4 Jarrod Harmon (MVDCC)                         15
5 Timmy Walker (Banjo's Legana)                  8
Under 13 Derby
1 Jake Laskey
2 Stephen Heppel
3 David Stride
Under 15 Derby
1 Peter Loft
2 Ed Robinson
3 Dave Lyons
Under 17 Derby
1 Daniel Jamieson
2 Will Robinson
3 Tom Robinson
Under 13 Scratch Race
1 Stephen Heppel
2 Jake Laskey
3 David Stride
Under 15 Scratch Race
1 Ed Robinson
2 Dave Lyons
3 Matt Semichi
Under 17 Scratch Race
1 Clay Murfet
2 Will Robinson
3 Alex Lyons
Open B Grade Scratch Race
1 John Rayner
2 Jarrod Harmon
3 Josh Wilson
Open A Grade Scratch
1 Matt Goss
2 Ben Price
3 Ryan Johnson

Local results 2004