Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Friday Night Winter Track Racing - Week 5

Dunc Gray Velodrome, June 27, 2003

By Paul Craft

Week 5 saw the Division 1 riders line up for the first of our monthly Madison races. The race was run at high speed with plenty of action during the 40laps. Full credit goes to the participants who displayed perfect skills throughout the race.

With 4 laps to go the team of Dixon/Sommer launched an attack that couldn't be followed and immediately opened a gap that looked as though it would not be closed. Chris Young tried in vain to follow the attack, however, after riding an aggressive event his legs simply couldn't handle the pace as the gap grew larger.

With two laps to go, Young was able to throw in his teammate, Phil Stokes, who was left with an almost impossible 100m deficit to make up. Whilst Phil Dixon was powering for the finish it looked like the race was won. But to the crowds delight Stokes was flying and came over the top of Dixon punching the air as he crossed the line.

The program of racing was well received and enjoyed by riders and spectators alike. Four teams of 11 riders had the audience on the edge of their seats as they battled out the Italian pursuit. Both challenges went down to wire with the winning margins being only 10m on both occasions.

Darren McNeil took full advantage of his 85m start to win the always prestigious Div 2b+3 FNWTR 1km Wheelrace. The fast finishing Jonathon Howard and Michael Leach chased Daren in the closing stages but failed in overhauling the winner. This highly sought after event is ran weekly and rotates between the grades.

Once again the night was concluded in the Handlebar Tavern where riders were able to watch all the highlights of the nights racing on the big screen.

Next week we are expecting bigger numbers with a lot of riders looking for alternative racing due to the ridiculous road laws that have been imposed over the last weeks. We welcome all spectators and riders to come along to the Dunc Gray Velodrome for what promises to be a spectacular and entertaining night of racing.


Warm up scratch race winners
Jnr's  Jack Bennett
Div 1  Pete Fitzpatrick
Div 2  Ivan Colig
2b     Steve Dixon
Wom+3  Peter Rafferty
Miss N Out H'cap Div 1
1 Aidan Hobbs
2 Ross  Harding
3 Rebecca Ellis
Miss N Out Div 2
1 Ivan Colig
2 Jim Gray
3 Hugh Gray
1km Wheel Race Div 2
1 Darren McNiel
2 Jonathon Howard
3 Michael Leach
Miss N Out H'cap Wom
1 Eve Hood
2 Deena Faulkner
3 Ruth Oxlade
Italian all grades
1 Team 1  BJ
2 Team 2 Dixon
Italian all grades
1 Team 4 Fitzpatrick
2 Team 3 Short
40 lap Madison
1 Stokes Young
2 Dixon Sommer
3 Gardner Colig
4 Fitzpatrick Hood
Madison Pacer Scratch Div2 + 2b
1 Rebbecca Elis
2 Dale Scarfe
3 Jim  Gray
Madison Pacer Scratch Div3 + Wom
1 Lorin Jurd
2 Trevor Wait
3 Terry Freshwater
Div 1 + Div 2 Sratch
1 Phil  Stokes
2 Pete Fitzpatrick
3 Phil  Dixon
Div 2b + Div 3 + wom Scratch
1 Michael Leach
2 Steve Dixon
3 Antony Gymer

Previous Results from Australia