Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Friday Night Winter Track Racing Week #9

Dunc Gray Velodrome, Sydney, July 25, 2003

By Paul Craft

An international field took to the boards for the ninth round of FNWTR. The 70+ participants, which included 3 former World Champions and two members of the Uruguay National team, were part of an action packed night of racing.

The night had two feature events. The first was the weekly 1km Wheelrace which rotates between the grades. This week it was Division 2B's and 3's turn for their shot at the prize.

Walter Marchodo has been a fixture on Australian Cycling results for the last 3 decades. But on Friday night he arguably took the greatest victory of his long career when he stormed home in the 1km Wheelrace. Walter started with a 55m advantage over Scratch man Sean Powell. But he had to overcome the limit markers including Lindsey Munks off 75m. However by the end of the 1km it was Walter who scored the win.

The second feature event of the night was the Monthly Madison. All money was on the multiple World title winning team of Kial Stewart and Shaun Hopkins.

The event started extremely smoothly with all teams remaining tightly packed until 25laps to go when a flurry of attacks saw team Uruguay in all sorts of difficulty off the back. However, they recovered to catch the leading group and immediately took control of the race at the front.

This is the way the race remained until 2 1/2 laps to go when Phil Stokes launched a devastating attack which caught Shaun Hopkins napping. It was left to Shaun's team mate Kial Stewart to chase down Team Stokes/Fitzpatrick. As it was he didn't have the speed to catch the leading team. In fact, on his wheel was Simon Price who scampered over Stewart to take second place.

This leaves Phil Stokes undefeated in the Madison challenge and we will have to wait until next month to find out if anyone can defeat Stokesy in his pet event the Madison.

Next week will see Nokian Tyres returning to sponsor the Women's Nokian 1 km Wheelrace. The women's events have proven to be hotly contested and with the incentive of a Nokian racing tyre up for grabs, next weeks event will not be one to miss.

Can't wait to see you all on Friday.


Warm up scratch race winners
Subies  Ben Grant
Jnr's   Scott Law
Div 1   Shaun Hopkins
Div 2   Hector Morales
2b      Stephan Phelan
Div 3   Matt Guillan
Wom     Rebbecca Elis
Group H'Cap
1 Kial Stewart
2 Tim Rice
3 Alex Sommer
Group H'Cap Div 2
1 Chad Schnieder
2 Michael Mellish
3 Andrew Grant
1km Wheelrace Div 2b + 3
1 Walter Marhardo
2 Linsay Munks
3 Lauren Carroll
Group H'Cap Wom
1 Deena Faulkner
2 Jackie Kejda
3 Ruth Oxlade
Div 1 Sprint Challenge Winners
Heat 1 Pete Fitzpatric
Heat 2 Shaun Hopkins
Heat 3 Kial Stewart
Div 2 Sprint Challenge Winners
Heat 1 Peter Barnard
Heat 2 Geoff Hopkins
Heat 3 Stephan Phelan
Div 2B Sprint Challenge Places
1 Lauren Carrol
2 Patrick Bolan
3 Dale Scarfe
Div 3 Sprint Challenge Places
1 Matt Guillan
2 Lindsay Munks
3 Mike Tremaine
Wom Sprint Challenge Places
1 Liz Georgauras
2 Jackie Kajda
3 Zoe Southwell
40 lap Madison
1 Stokes Fitzpatrick
2 Gardner Price
3 Hopkins Stewart
4 Team Uruguay
Madison Pacer Scratch Div 2
1 Grant Law
2 Peter Barnard
3 Stephan Phelan
Madison Pacer Scratch Div 2b + 3
1 Scott Mills
2 Trevor Wait
3 Michael Leache
Madison Pacer Scratch Wom
1 Kerrie Crisp
2 Penny Rowbotham
3 Ruth Oxlade
Div 1 + Div 2 Sratch
1 Kial Stewart
2 Phil Stokes
3 Simon Price
Div 2b + Div 3 + Wom Sratch
1 Dale Scarfe
2 Stephan Phelan
3 Sean Powell 

Previous Results from Australia