Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Friday Night Winter Track Racing - Week 7

Dunc Grey Velodrome, July 11, 2003

By Paul Craft

FNWTR track racing seems to get better with age for all but three competitors. Those 3 riders will be nursing a few bumps and bruises after a dramatic crash in the final race of the night.

The feature race of the night was the Cycling Manager 03 Wheelrace won by former Jnr World Champion Shaun Hopkins who launched himself from scratch to catch the leaders with 1 lap still remaining. Simon Price and Grant Patrick performed gallantly to place 2nd and 3rd respectively but had no answer to Hopkins speed. Shaun won a copy of Cycling Manager 03 and a Team Cycling Manager Jersey. You can check out this great game on the following web site www.cycling-manager.dk/onlineshop.

Riders travelled from Port Stephens, Newcastle, Central Coast, Wollongong and, of course, from around Sydney to enjoy the competitive racing of FNWTR.

The night had 5 rounds of hot racing for all divisions with a good mixture of sprint and endurance events. Competitors and spectators alike especially enjoyed the Round 3 events.

Unfortunately a Three-rider pile up marred the final race of the night with 3 laps to go. All riders walked away with amazingly little damage. I wish Jonathon Howard, Eleanor Hume and Brad Craft a speedy recovery to be ready for next Friday night witch I guarantee will be one not to miss.


Warm up scratch race winners
Jnr's Scott Harding
Div 1 Shaun Hopkins
Div 2 Ivan Colig
Div 3 Don Talintyre
Wom+3 kylie Spencer
Cycling Manager 03 wheelrace Div 1
1 Shaun Hopkins
2 Simon Price
3 Grant Patrick
Group H'cap Div 2
1 Duncan Crosby
2 Hugh Gray
3 Michael Mellish
Group H'cap Div 3
1 Matt Guillan
2 Lindsy Munks
3 Mark Burges
Group H'cap Wom
1 Jackie Kejda
2 Elanor Hume
3 Catriona Croghan
Keirin Div 1 Heat 1
1 Michael Stokes
2 Brad Hooker
3 Ross Harding
Keirin Div 1 Heat 2
1 Shaun Hopkins
2 Michael Lewis
3 Simon Price
Keirin Div 2 Heat 1
1 Hugh Gray
2 Adam Christopher
3 Michael Popplewell
Keirin Div 2 Heat 2
1 Chad Schneider
2 Ivan Colig
3 Jeff Hopkins
Keirin Div 2 Heat 3
1 Peter Barnard
2 Michael Mellish
3 Patrick Bolan
Keirin Div 3 Heat 1
1 Don Talintyre
2 Geoff Worthington
3 Mike Tremaine
Keirin Wom Heat 1
1 Kylie spencer
2 Jackie Keijda
3 Keeley Minamara
Leadsling Div 1 25 laps
1 Shaun Hopkins
2 Lewis/ Stokes
3 Simon Price
Pointscore Div 2 15 laps
1 Jim Gray              8 pts
2 Hugh Gray             8
3 Ivan Colig            6
Pointscore Div 3 15 laps
1 Geoff Worthington     9
2 Matt Guillan          8
3 Mike Tramain          5
Pointscore Wom 12 laps
1 Jackie Kejda         11
2 Keely McNamara        9
3 Cat Croghan           7
Scratch Combine Div 1+2 35 laps
1 Shaun Hopkins
2 Simon Price
3 Grant Patrick
Scratch Combine Div 2b+3+wom 25 laps
Abandoned due to crash with 3 to go

Previous Results from Australia