Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Friday Night Winter Track Racing - Week 6

Dunc Gray Velodrome, July 4, 2003

By Paul Craft

Waratah Vets took the opportunity of using FNWTR for their Scratch Race Championships 2002/3. The titles were run during the program and provided some additional excitement. The newly Crowned scratch champions are Geoff Worthington and Ivan Colig.

Ivan's Sprint for victory was a nail biter with the riders spread 5 high crossing the line. Pre race favorites Roland Lang and Michael Hickman finished 4th and 5th respectively less than a meter behind Colig.

Other highlights for this fantastic night of racing were, Rebecca Ellis, riding from scratch and using every meter of the 1km wheelrace to overhaul her rivals and Junior Development Graduate, Scott Mills, who spun his way to a clever victory in the div 3 Miss'N'Out.

The Snowball race proved to be a winner with all grades. Division 1 saw several riders scrapping for the early sprints in the hope of collecting enough points to beat race favourite Shaun Hopkins. Phil Dixon was the best out this group as he had earned 15 points. However there was very little Phil could do when Hoppy opened up and took the final two sprints to steal victory on 19 points.

In the Div 3 Snowball Don Talintyre worked tirelessly to accumulate 22 points, which seemed to be unassailable with only 3 sprints remaining. However, he didn't count on two riders breaking away from the pack. Nor did he count on one them (Big Trevor Wait) being such a gentleman, allowing his colleague Terry Freshwater to take the final 3 sprints unchallenged. The Crowed jeered and cheered at Big Trev's actions but in the end everyone warmed to this riders generous act. Everyone except Talintyre who was helpless to watch all his hard work go to waste.

Next week's race will see Division 1 line up for the Cycling Manager 03 Wheelrace. Being a 1km Handicap means that anyone can win, so we are expecting a larger field for this prestigious event. There are some awesome prizes up for grabs including a copy of Cycling Manager 2003. This top quality game allows you to manage your own cycling team. You can test out a free demo of the Game on the following web site: www.cycling-manager.dk/onlineshop.

I know I say this each week, but I really do mean it. Can't wait till next Friday.


Warm up scratch race winners
Jnr's    David  Moiler
Div 1    David  Willmott
Div 2    Michael Hickman
2b+3     Don Talintyre
Wom+3    Tanya Bosch
Group H'cap Div 1
1 Shaun  Hopkins
2 Aidan  Hobbs
3 Matt Loupis
Group H'cap Div 2 + 2B + 3
1 Michael Leach
2 Geoff  Hopkins
3 Camron  Simpson
1km Wheel Race Women
1 Rebecca Ellis
2 Kelly Cox
3 Ruth Oxlade
Waratah Vets 2002/3 scratch championships
1 Geoff Worthington
2 Terry Freshwater
3 Peter  Mangioni
Waratah Vets 2002/3 scratch championships
1 Ivan Colig
2 Hugh Gray
3 Roland Lang
Miss'N'Out Div 1
1 Shaun Hopkins
2 David  Browne
3 Phil Dixon
Miss'N'Out Div 2
1 Geoff Hopkins
2 Jim  Gray
3 Patrick Bolan
Miss'N'Out Div 2b
1 Michael Leach
2 Camron  Simpson
3 Sean  Powell
Miss'N'Out Div 3 + wom
1 Scott Mills
2 Don  Talintyre
3 Ruth  Oxlade
Snowball Div 1
1 shaun Hopkins         19 pts
2 Phil Dixon            15
3 Aiden  Hobbs          12
Snowball Div 2 + 2b
1 Ivan Colig            22
2 Shane Wood            17
3 Dean Preddy           10
Snowball Div 3
1 Terry Freshwater      27
2 Don Talintyre         22
3 Peter Mangioni         6
Snowball wom
1 Tanya  Bosch          45
2 Ruth Oxlade            7
3 Penny Rowbotham        3
Combined sratch Div 1 + 2
1 Phil Dixon
2 Ivan Colig
3 Aidan Hobbs
Combined sratch Div 2b + 3 + wom
1 Terry  Freshwater
2 sean Powell
3 Michael Leach 

Previous Results from Australia