Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



4th Superior Road Race

Superior, AZ, March 22, 2003

Tom Danielson superior

By Lauren Tait

Saturn Cycling Team's standout rider Tom Danielson, dubbed by many as "The Next Big Thing," flexed his muscles by taking the "King of the Mountain" honors and first place overall under the hot Arizona sun in the mountainous Superior Road Race.

The start of the race saw a flurry of attacks as riders jockeyed for position heading into the first set of climbs. When the road finally tilted upward, Danielson and's Ron Hudson laid down a torrid pace and broke away from the peloton, followed closely by Landis Cyclery's Scott Price. Danielson crossed over the 1st KOM point 20 seconds ahead of Hudson, and on the ensuing descent, the pack came back together again.

The rest of the race saw a series of attacks. And with the help of a tailwind, two Landis riders broke away on the long undulating middle section. However, the break was reeled back in on the final 15-mile climb to the finish when Danielson, Hudson, and Landis Cyclery's Drew Miller laid down a torrid pace, splintering the field.

The race played out with Hudson launching an attack just shy of the 2nd KOM. Danielson countered, and crossed over the top in first place, trailed by Miller and Hudson. From there Danielson pulled away, finishing 1:45 clear of the two-up sprint, which Hudson took by one second over Miller.


1 Tom Danielson (Saturn)
2 Ron Hudson (
3 Andrew Miller (Landis Cyclery)
4 Tim Carolan (Landis Cyclery)
5 Scott Price (Landis Cyclery)

Previous USA Results