Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



"Bring it on!" Race series #1

Alachua, FL, January 18, 2003

Southern US road season kicks off despite the cold

By Team Florida/UF cycling

The 2003 domestic season warm-ups kicked off with a well attended race in north central Florida. While the high number of attendees attested for the competitors willingness to begin the season, the weather still displayed its resistance. The day's temperatures never escaped the 40s and the winds remained blustery for the duration.

The A grade race saw a continuation of the now two year dominance of the training series by the Cyclescience team. Although greatly outnumbered, the pair of Jason Snow and Dan Larson finessed a victory out of the first angered pedal strokes of the year. The main competition included a large contingent from the local Bike Route team, two French-Canadian snowbirds, and a slew of racers from around the region. Snow escaped early on with Orlando racer Mike Starr, Canadian Bruno Langlois, and Ray MacNamara from Tallahassee. The blustery winds and collective team interference stifled the chase and the quartet held a steady 30-40 second lead throughout the remainder of the race. The lead only dipped below 20 seconds in the closing laps thanks to some cat and mouse moves up front and some more sustained aggression from behind. To spite the chess games and the late chase, Snow bested his four companions in the sprint, just edging out Starr for the win. The chase came to pieces behind, and Snow's teammate Larson came in at the head of the remains. The eventual field finish for 11th featured Bobby Lee just beating fellow Alachua resident Darryl Tompkins.

The B grade race was a large affair with many of the University of Florida's cyclists getting their first crack at racing proper. The intermixed inexperience, coupled with the windy conditions, caused a significant whittling down of the field that left nearly a quarter of the competitors on the sidelines. Through the tough conditions, two riders forged an advantage late in the race. University of Florida racer JD Herlihy and Tallahassee junior phenom Beck Frydenborg(Atomic) were left with a duel for the top spot. The 15 year old showed some speed and a glimpse of the future as he came across the line clear of the UF Neuroscience student. The sprint for the remaining places was taken with an early jump by Lorne Johnson(Bike Route) ahead of a fast closing Chris Ridgard(UF). Rebecca McClintock(Colavita) finished off the first half of her double duty for the day as she rounded out the top five of the B event.

McClintock treated the small crowd to her second showing while besting the women competitors. With the Handicap format, McClintock and Amanda Hall(Bike Route) were marked to regain 45 seconds on the majority of the group. After a hard, windy chase, Hall and McClintock finally made contact with just a few laps remaining and still managed to get enough rest to mix it up in the sprint finish. Relative neophyte Alexis Dabroski(Bike Route) had an impressive sprint, passed only by McClintock to take second place, and Summer Calder(Boston), who had swept all but one of the races primes, was a close third.


A grade, 25 laps, 30 miles), 39 starters
1 Jason Snow (Cyclescience)
2 Mike Starr (True Blue)
3 Bruno Langlois (Volkswagen/Trek)
4 Ray MacNamara (Atomic racing)
5 Dan Larson (Cyclescience)
6 Alex Lavallee (Volkswagen/Trek)
7 Josh Seldman (Krystal)
8 Ryan Saylor (Team Florida)
9 Louis Lamarche (Atomic racing)
10 Philip Thompson (Bike Route)
11 Bobby Lee (unattached)
12 Darryl Tompkins (Bike Route)
13 Aaron Fulton (Atomic racing)
B grade, 20 laps, 24 miles,  42 starters
1 Beck Frydenborg (Atomic Racing)
2 JD Herlihy (Team Florida)
3 Lorne Johnson (Bike Route )
4 Chris Ridgard (Team Florida)
5 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita)
6 Russ Frydenborg (Atomic racing)
7 Reid Savid (Team Florida)
8 John Dascomb (Team Florida)
Women, 10 laps, 12 miles, 10 starters
1 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita)
2 Alexis Dabroski (Bike Route)
3 Summer Calder (Boston )
4 Kelly Rooney (Bike Route)
5 Amanda Hall (Bike Route)
6 Natalie Webb (Team Florida)
7 Holly Petty (Team Florida)
8 Caroline Shandow (International Christian CC)
9 Vicki Santello (Gainesville CC)
10 Jody Alexander (unattached)

Previous USA Results