Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 4-5, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



6th Annual Barrio Logan Grand Prix

San Diego, California USA, May 4, 2002

Johnson takes twisty community crit

By Steve Smull, San Diego Bicycle Club

The 6th Annual Barrio Logan Grand Prix was once again promoted by the San Diego Bicycle Club, for the benefit of the Logan Heights Family Health Center. The inner city criterium featured a $6000 prize list and a twisting "old school" course requiring considerable bike handling skills.

A major feature of the BLGP is the forward looking development plan for future racers. Junior racing categories for all ages were represented. Additionally, over 200 little kids participated in community racing events for children, and they all rode off in free helmets with prize ribbons around their necks. They'll be back.

Michael Johnson (Schroeder Iron) was the benefactor of being on the dominant team in the Men Pro/1/2 race, as his two up break with Chris Walker (Team Zombies) was well defended from behind. The sprint was a formality, as Johnson vs Walker in a sprint looked like a fight between Mike Tyson vs. Woody Allen. If there had been a hill things would have looked different. But there was no hill. A valiant effort by Chris Walker but its tough to outsprint a guy with ten times your muscle mass. Norm Carter (Jelly Belly) took the field sprint for third in a long and windy mass sprint, a nice piece of work against an ocean of blue Schroeder's.

The women's race was won in a sprint in what has become a tradition by San Diego's Debbie Durand (Helen's VW Trek). No one got around the compact but potent sprinter; her elbows are just as sharp as ever. But if Durand wants to retain the BLGP crown, she will need to keep an eye on the junior rider who took third, Anna Webb (Velo Motion).


Men Pro/1/2
1 Michael Johnson (Schroeder Iron)
2 Chris Walker (Team Zombies)
3 Norm Carter (Jelly Belly)
4 Hilton Clarke (Schroeder Iron)
5 Jamie Paolinetti (Schroeder Iron)
6 Greg Medenilla (Pacific Sunset Velo)
7 Evan Teske (Pacific Sunset Velo)
8 Victor Ayala (Schroeder Iron)
9 Mike Tillman (Trek)
10 Aaron Quesnell (Lipovitan)
Women Pro/1/2
1 Debbie Durand (Helen's VW Trek)
2 Katie Safford (La Grange)
3 Anna Webb (Velo Motion)
4 Erika Schwarz (Red 5 Racing)
5 Carla Koehler (La Grange)
6 Dara Rogers (Helen's VW Trek)
7 Laurie Furman (Harbour Lights)
8 Cynthia Marle (Helen's VW Trek)
9 Colleen Kelly  (Red 5 Racing)
10 Desire Utzig (La Grange)

Previous USA Results