Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 27-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Athens Twilight Criterium

Athens, GA, April 27, 2002

Click for larger image
The chase closes in
Photo: © Greg Schisla

A hard-fought women's race to Teutenberg

Saturn's Ina Teutenberg took her team's third consecutive win at the Athens Twilight criterium Saturday night.

With only a small to support her, Teutenberg didn't feel the Saturn presence was unbeatable, but team-mates Suzanne Sonye and Kristy Scrymgeour were nevertheless instrumental in helping Teutenberg across the line first, despite spirited opposition from runner up Tina Mayolo-Pic of Diet Rite.

The early stages were marked by just one significant attack as a Scuba Genesis rider soloed away for three laps before being reeled in by the bunch.

As the pace picked up with five laps to go, Diet Rite led out, then Sonye and Saturn moved to the front with three to go.

On the line, Teutenberg just edged ahead of Mayolo-Pic. Becky Conzelman of Freddie Fu Cycling was third.

Afterwards, Teutenberg told Andra Whitworth of that she hadn't been feeling fast.

"I didn't have the legs to win until the line," said Teutenberg. "Tina was pretty close.

"I don't think we ever dominated the race today, we just finished. I was for sure beatable, and Tina really came on."

Gord Fraser takes Pro men's race

Men's race report by Team Mercury

Mercury's Gord Fraser took home tonight's Charter Athens Twilight Criterium in front of 30,000 spectators. The annual event draws people from nearby U of Georgia and is the biggest criterium in the US. The energy level given off by the screaming fans is unlike any race. With big primes nearly every lap the pace never slacks off.

Mercury used textbook race tactics and had the race in complete control with 5 laps to go.

Earlier it looked like a group of riders was going to lap the field. Mercury had Henk Vogels joined by John Lieswyn, David McCook and Andy Crater. But Prime Alliance saw this virtually last week at Roswell and took up the chase. Mercury was happy to reshuffle and no other serious breaks went away. With a field sprint looming, Mercury took control and delivered Fraser to the line.


Photography courtesy Greg Schisla


1 Gord Fraser (Mercury)
2 David McCook (Prime Alliance)
3 Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance)
4 Greg Hendreson (7Up-Nutra Fig)
5 Hayden Godfrey (7Up-Nutra Fig)
6 Derek Bouchard-Hall (Mercury Cycling Team)
7 Andrew Crater (-)
8 Chad Gerlach (Sierra Nevada Cycling Team)
9 Graeme Miller (Mercury)
10 Chris Pic (Choco Andean Coffee)
11 Gaggioli Roberto
12 James Palonetti (Schroder Iron)
13 John Lieswyn (7Up-Nutra Fig)
14 Alex Candelario (Prime Alliance)
15 Dan Schmatz (7Up-Nutra Fig)
16 Juan Pineda (7Up-Nutra Fig)
17 Jeff Hopkins (Choco Andean Coffee)
18 Hilton Clark (Schroder Iron)
19 Eric Wohlberg (Saturn)
20 Pat Mccallion (Fairway-Cyfac)
21 Scott Edge (OLP Racing)
22 Jason Snow (Fuji Racing Team)
23 Max Finkbeiner (Choco Andean Coffee)
24 Cameron Hughes (Pharmacia)
25 Frank Pipp (GDVC)
26 James Sweeney (JRC)
27 Travis Hutchinson (Krystal Racing)
28 Ryan Barnett (Krystal - Powerade)
29 John Peters (Prime Alliance)
30 Victor Ripinski (Saturn)
31 Russell Stevenson (Prime Alliance)
32 Leon Vogels (Mercury)
33 Stoyanov Plamon (Mercury)
34 Hank Vogels (Mercury)
35 Kevin Miller (Veloclips- Sun & Ski)
36 Shawn Willard (Evergreen-Easton)

1 Ina Teutenberg (Saturn)                       51.05.8
2 Tina Mayolo-Pic (Diet Rite)
3 Becky Conzelman (Freddie Fu)                   0.00.8
4 Emily Gloeckner (Veritas Womens Cycling)       0.00.9
5 Joanne Kiesanowski (Diet Rite)                 0.01.0
6 Jenny Eyerman (Santa Cruz Spokesman)           0.01.1
7 Laura Van Gilder (Trke Plus)
8 Candice Blickem (Cycles De Oro)                0.01.3
9 Underwood Christina (Team Fuji)
10 Mandy Poitras (Atlanta Velo)                  0.01.6
11 Stacy Peters (Atlanta Velo)
12 Sherri Stedje (BBC)                           0.01.8
13 Lara Kroepsch (Trek Plus)                     0.02.0
14 Tracy Sproule (Atlanta Velo)                  0.02.1
15 Kelly Helen (Verizon Wireless-Cervelo)        0.02.2
16 Tania Miller (Freddie Fu)
17 Iona Wynter (Genesis Scuba-Ffcc)              0.02.4
18 Angela Vargas (Genesis Scuba-Ffcc)            0.03.2
19 Margell Abel (Veritas Women'S Cycling Tea)    0.03.5
20 Giselle Trahan (Genesis Scuba)                0.03.5
21 Clharmian Breon                               0.03.6
22 Jennifer Cooper (Genesis Scuba-Ffcc)
23 Lynn Brotzman (-)                             0.05.1
24 Lauren Franges (Amoroso's- HH Racing Team)
25 Kerry Soraci (Diet Rite)                      0.05.8
26 Sophie St-Jacques (Trek Plus)                 0.06.0
27 Lorraine Manning (Atlanta Velo)               0.06.1
28 Petra Ford (Verizon Wireless-Cervelo)         0.06.4
29 Alison Brown (Genesis Scuba-Ffcc)             0.06.5
30 Rebecca Quinn (East Coast Velo-Cycledrome)    0.06.7
31 Cindy Tompkins (Bike Route Racing)            0.06.9
32 Lenora Felker (Amorosos Hh Racing)            0.07.1
33 Beth Leasure (Artemis Racing)                 0.09.1
34 Josephine Babin (MFS)                         0.10.3
35 Suzanne Sonye (Saturn)                        0.26.7
36 Kristy Scrymgeour (Saturn)                    0.27.5
37 Kimberly Davidge (Saturn)                     0.28.3

Previous USA Results