Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illwarra CC

West Dapto, March 30, 2003

PJ puts it on the line

Peter Jones outgunned Tim Morris in the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club 27 kilometre Elite Men's scratch race at Huntly last Sunday. In a fast race where no-one was able to escape from the bunch, Jones waited until the sprint to make his final move just edging out Morris and Steve Franklin for the line honours.

The field also included quality riders such as Adam Rourke, Luke Dale, Josh Wall, Graham Rutter and mountain-biker David Greening. The A-grade event was just as quick as the Elite Mens' with Marc Walter snatching the win from Jason Johnson and Andrew Stewart.

B-grade was also decided at the sprint with veteran track sprinter Mick Kejda grabbing a win from Adam Crowther and Gary Pearson.

C-grade was easier to decide with Al McClelland and Paul Kaye finishing ten seconds ahead of Reg Hitchins.

There will not be a local race next weekend as Illawarra riders will be competing in the Southern Division Road Championships at Bredalbane on Sunday. Racing at Huntly will resume on Saturday the April 12 at 2.00pm with group 5 marshalling.

The annual club presentations held after last Sunday's race saw awards made to many members for achievements in Club Championships and a special award made to Lionel Covington for Club Person of the Year recognising his efforts with club handicapping.

Champions get financial assistance to defend their titles

The special achievements of Caesars Illawarra Cycle Club riders Brendan Cato, Rebecca Borgo and Josh Wall were recognised during the Club's annual presentations at Huntly last Sunday.

Cheques totalling $1,000 were gratefully received by Rebecca and Josh and also by father Joe Cato as Brendan is away in Italy competing.

The 2003 Kells The Lawyers - Financial Assistance programme is intended to assist meeting the riders expenses when travelling to National and international events.

Results - Scratch race, 27km

A Grade
1 Mark Walters (Sth Highlands)       39.37
2 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)           0.03
3 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
4 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
5 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)
6 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
7 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
8 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
9 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
10 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
11 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
12 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
13 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)             42.59
2 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)
3 Gary Pearson (Eurobodalla)
4 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)
5 Rebecca Borgo (Illawarra)
6 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
7 David Russel (Illawarra)
8 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
9 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
10 Mal Moss (Illawarra)
11 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
12 Sally Watts (Sth Highlands)
13 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)
C Grade
1 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)        47.02
2 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
3 Reg Hitchens (Illawarra)            0.10
4 Terry Wall (Illawarra)
5 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)           3.34
1 Peter Jones (Illawarra)            39.39
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
3 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
4 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
5 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
6 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
7 David Greening (Illawarra)
8 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
9 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
10 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook) 

Australian results from the past week

Canberra CC - Summer Criterium Series #20
Randwick-Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC - John's Cyclesport Cup #1
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Lunarfest Criterium
Mildura-Coomealla CC - Summer Series Road Race Championship
Mildura-Coomealla CC (Mar 25)
Footscray CC - Frank O'Brien Memorial Handicap
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Tasmanian Road Series - Fred Keefe Memorial Race


Complete Australian results for 2003