Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Maryborough CC

April 13, 2003

By Peter Barbeler

The Maryborough Cycle Club ran its first road race of the season in conjunction with the Boonooroo Sports Association on Sunday 13th April. This started with an all in handicap, which kicked off at 10.30am from the Boonooroo Sports Grounds to Granville and back. There was quite a good roll up with 35 members taking to the road.

First place went to Jim Cross in a hotly contested sprint finish. Jim won a Moonlight Dinner for two and return Fastcat transfers to Kingfisher Bay Resort & Village, which was kindly donated by Whale Watch Tourist Centre. Jim was presented with his prize by Councillor Anne Miller while Peter Barbeler (President) and Trevor Geysing (Club Captain) looked on. Other place getters: 2nd place - Kev Kalvey; 3rd place - Ron Wroe; 4th - Ron McKay; 5th place - Fabian Spice and Chris Ihle riding the fastest time of 56.47. The junior cyclists rode a 10km handicap, which was won by Robert Saunders in the time of 22.03 minutes, with Quintin Miller coming in second with the fastest time of 19.30.

The Maryborough Cycle Club will be holding their monthly meeting on Thursday 17th April at 7.00pm at the Cycle Hall, Tinana. All members are urged to attend, so they can have their say, and also to keep up to date with the happenings of the club. There will be no racing over the Easter Break, however the club’s regular training ride will still take place on Easter Sunday leaving from the Granville Hotel at 7.00am sharp. The next race will be on Saturday 26th April with a 2.00pm sharp start. Nominations will be taken from 1.15pm. No nominations will be taken after 1.50pm. For further information please contact Peter on 0400216393 or Jim on 41210520.


1 Jim Cross
2 Kev Kalvey
3 Ron Wroe
4 Ron McKay
5 Fabian Spice
Fastest time: Chris Ihle - 56.47
Juniors, 10 km handicap
1 Robert Saunders
2 Quintin Miller
Fastest time: Quintin Miller - 19.30

Australian results from the past week

Illwarra CC
Canberra CC - ACT State Criterium Championships
St Kilda CC Criterium Championships
Randwick Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Launceston CC - Jim Phillips Memorial
Tasmanian Schools Road Championships
Footscray CC


Complete Australian results for 2003