Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 4-10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Latrobe 40 & Tasmanian Road Series #1

Latrobe, May 5, 2002

By Mathew Conn

Sheffield cyclist Mark Jamieson celebrated his 18th Birthday in style by taking out the Tasmanian 40km Championship, held as part of yesterdays Eric Webster Memorial race at Latrobe.

Line honours in the opening round of the Tasmanian road season went to Launceston rider, Laurie Venn. A previous winner of the race, it is nearly 35years since Venn first took victory in the Latrobe event. Venn and his co-markers rode well to hold off the scratch bunch, and it was another veteran, Ulverstone's Craig Price who took second.

The riders contesting the championship lost several riders in the first 20km, including Gareth Atkins and Karl Menzies who both punctured. Menzies chased for 15km to regain the group but suffered from his efforts in the final kilometers. Jamieson took the 40km title at an average speed of 42km/h, just managing to hold off a fast finishing Matthew Conn in the sprint.


Tasmanian Road Series Round 1
1 L Venn
2 C Price
3 G Young
Tasmanian 40km Championship (Eric Webster Memorial)
1 M Jamieson
2 M Conn
Junior Under 13
1 J Laskey
2 A Dalton
3 S Hepple 
Fastest Time - Robinson
Junior Under 15
1 T Robinson
2 A Holden
3 A Jones
Fastest Time - Robinson
Junior Under 17
1 C Flint
2 N Mapley
3 W Sulzberger
Fastest Time - W Sulzberger



Australian results from the past week

Canberra Tour
Randwick Botany CC
Bundaberg CC
Caesar's Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC


Complete Australian results for 2002