Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 4-10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Kelly cracks the win

Heffron Park, May 4, 2002

By Tony Horneman

The Randwick Cycling Club conducted an all-in 27-rider senior club 20km handicap race at Heffron Park on Saturday 4 May 2002. D Grade had a sizable head start on the other grades, but was quickly caught by the B and C Grade bunches who worked well together, rolling over (changing the leading rider) every 100m or so. By the half way point, A Grade riders including Liam Kelly, Patrick Jones and Clive Hammerson momentarily latched on to the main group but didn't stay for long. They launched themselves off the front, not to be seen again until the end of the race.

Kelly, Jones and Hammerson took out the first three places, Kelly winning in a total time of 36min 13sec. He recorded the fastest time of 32min 13sec, with an average speed just under 38km/h.

C Grader Tony Horneman led out the main bunch sprint but was passed by Sean Bloch and David Watkinson and other strong B Grade riders. Bloch was the first B Grader home and Horneman the first C Grader to cross the line.

In junior racing, Andrew Powell recorded the best time in the A Grade 2km Time Trail with a time of 3min 22sec. Keegan Aitchison, was 3sec behind, Mark Woodhouse, 9sec behind and Tom Richards 31sec behind. The quickest time in the B Grade Time Trial over 2km was Adriano Maradini 4min 15sec. James Warne was 11sec behind and Tyler Hailwood 44sec further back.

The A Grade Scratch Race over 16km was won by Keegan Aitchison in a time of 29min 21sec followed by Mark Woodhouse and Andrew Powell. The B Grade Scratch Race over 8km was taken out by Adriano Maradini in a time of 20min 38sec with James Warne second and Tyler Hailwood third.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


Senior Handicap, 20km
1 Liam Kelly                           36.13
2 Patrick Jones
3 Clive Hammerson
Fastest Time: Liam Kelly               32.13
First B Grader: Sean Bloch
First C Grader: Tony Horneman
A Grade Time Trial, 2km
1 Andrew Powell                         3.22
2 Keegan Aitchison                      0.03
3 Mark Woodhouse                        0.09
4 Tom Richards                          0.31
B Grade Time Trial, 2km
1 Adriano Maradini                      4.15
2 James Warne                           0.11
3 Tyler Hailwood                        0.44
A Grade Scratch Race, 16km
1 Keegan Aitchison                     29.21
2 Mark Woodhouse
3 Andrew Powell
B Grade Scratch Race, 8km
1 Adriano Maradini                     20.38
2 James Warne
3 Tyler Hailwood



Australian results from the past week

Canberra Tour
Randwick Botany CC
Bundaberg CC
Caesar's Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC


Complete Australian results for 2002