Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Be Active Cycle Instead Criterium Series - NE

Perth, Australia, January 2, 2002

2001 Results     Stage List    Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Race 1 - January 2: Leederville (Oxford and Carr Streets), 7.30pm-8.30pm
  • Race 2 - January 3: Victoria Park (Albany Highway), 7.30pm-8.30pm
  • Race 3 - January 4: Subiaco (Hay Street), 7.30pm-8.30pm
  • Race 4 - January 5: Australian Criterium Championship, Joondalup (Grand Boulevard), 7.30pm-8.30pm


Over 40 elite cyclists will descend on Perth to race in the Be Active Cycle Instead Perth Criterium Series, held between January 2-5, 2003. The event will showcase the best local riders as well as a large contingent of interstate and international cyclists, including many who have competed in the Tour de France, Olympic and Commonwealth Games. Current world champion, Peter Dawson, State Criterium Champion, Daniel Mackey, Olympic Gold medallist Brett Aitkin, Tour de France cyclist Henk Vogels and other high profile cyclists such as Baden Cooke, Graeme Brown and Hilton Clarke are all slated to compete in the series.

Start list

Be Active - Cycle Instead            96FM
1 Brett Aitken (SA)                  5 Hilton McMurdo (WA)
2 Edmund Hollands (WA)               6 Sean O’Neill (WA)
3 Anthony di Battista (Vic)          7 Brad Anderson (Vic)
4 Brendan Rowbothan (Vic)            8 Reinhard van Speybroeck (WA)
Apex Rentals                         Bike Force Australia
9 Damien Cranage (SA)                13 Graeme Brown (NSW)
10 Steve Harcourt (NZ)               14 Brian Appleyard (NSW)
11 Nic Brown (WA)                    15 Chris Glasby (WA)
12 James Bennett (WA)                16 Mark Ferguson (WA)
Caravello Joinery                    FRF Couriers
17 David McPartland (Vic)            21 Brendan Shipp (NSW)
18 Steve Williams (NSW)              22 Mark Renshaw (NSW)
19 Anthony Spurgeon (NSW)            23 Jonathon Davis (NSW)
20 Nathan Russell (NSW)              24 Brent Dawson (NSW)
Kirke Securities                     Perth Criterium Series
25 Wayne van Moorsel (WA)            29 Hilton Clarke (Vic)
26 Jason Rigg (WA)                   30 Craig McCartney (Vic)
27 Phil Riemann (WA)                 31 James Roberts (WA)
28 Ryan Suckling (WA)                32 Andrew Sime (WA)
Visionary & National Estate Builders WA Sports Centre Trust
33 Tony Mann (Qld)                   37 Henk Vogels (WA)
34 Jarrod Poad (NZ)                  38 Andy Graham (Vic)
35 Darren Harry (WA)                 39 Matthew Miller (SA)
36 Nathan Jones (WA)                 40 Steven Evans (WA)
41 Peter Dawson (WA)
42 Daniel Mackey (WA)
43 Ric Steele (WA)
44 Benjamin Miles (WA)

Past winners

2001 Hilton Clarke (Vic) McInerney Ford
2000 Hilton McMurdo
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,