Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

The current time in Athens is 15:44 on October 22, 2021 - For current weather, click here

28th Olympic Games - JO

Athens, Greece, August 14-28, 2004

Results    First round    Second round    Finals    Track 101

August 25: Men's Keirin second round

Australians on top

Just as they did in the first round of the men's keirin, Australian riders Ryan Bayley and Shane Kelly sprinted to victories in their respective round 2 heats, which determined who progressed to the final.

In heat 1, Bayley was up against Ng, Escuredo, Vrba, Kwiatkowski and Staff. Escuredo took the front position behind the derny bike, followed by Vrba, Staff and Bayley. Kwaitoswki moved up, forcing Bayley back into fifth wheel with 3 laps to go. With 2 to go, Staff made a move to get to the front, then Vrba sprinted at 1.5 laps to go. But as he did earlier, Bayley simply sized up his opposition and turned on the speed to blow past everyone in the final lap to win ahead of Ng and Escuredo. Staff finished third, but was later disqualified for an irregular move.

The second heat pitted Kelly against Wolff, Bourgain, Fiedler, Bos and Vasilopoulos. Kelly took the bike again, followed by Vasilopoulos. When the derny pulled off at 2.5 to go, Theo Bos made a big move from the back to come past Kelly, but once again the Australian kept his cool and together with Wolff, passed the Dutchman on the back straight with Kelly winning ahead of Wolff and Bourgain. Once he had been passed, Bos was slightly overlapping Kelly's wheel when next to him, Vasilopoulos hit Wolff's wheel and crashed. Both Vasilopoulos and Bos came down and the Greek was disqualified. Neither rider started in the ride off for 7th to 12th.


Heat 1

1 Ryan Bayley (Australia)       10.537
2 Josiah Ng (Malaysia)
3 Jose Escuredo (Spain)
4 Ivan Vrba (Czech Republic)
5 Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Poland)
REL Jamie Staff (Great Britain)

Heat 2
1 Shane Kelly (Australia)      
2 Rene Wolff (Germany)
3 Mickael Bourgain (France)
4 Jens Fiedler (Germany)
DNF Theo Bos (Netherlands)
REL Labros Vasilopoulos (Greece)

Back to top