Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

The current time in Athens is 08:30 on October 23, 2021 - For current weather, click here

28th Olympic Games - JO

Athens, Greece, August 14-28, 2004

Results    First round    Second round    Finals    Track 101

August 25: Men's Keirin first round

Opening salvos fired

The first round of the men's keirin saw most, but not all of the favourites get through their heats to make it through to round 2. Laurent Gane (France) was the main rider to miss out, finishing sixth in the second heat and not making it through the repechage.

The first heat was the toughest, with Olympic sprint champion Ryan Bayley (Australia) along with silver medalist Theo Bos (Netherlands), multiple Olympic and world champion Jens Fiedler (Germany) and the speedy Jamie Staff (Britain). Bos took the number one spot behind the bike with Bayley on his wheel, followed by Staff and Fiedler. Staff then dropped back to last wheel but when the derny bike pulled off with 2.5 laps to go, he made a big move on the outside to draw level with Bos. Meanwhile, Bayley was sitting back in fifth wheel, sizing up the opposition, before deciding with a lap to go that it was time. He turned on the after burners to come round everyone and take the heat with ease, the last 200m being ridden in 10.431 seconds. Greek rider Labros Vasilopoulos surprised to finish second ahead of Staff, and advanced straight through to the second round.

The second heat saw Rene Wolff (Germany) in action against Jose Escuredo (Spain), Marty Nothstein (USA), Laurent Gane (France) and Josiah Ng (Malaysia), among others. Slovakian Jaroslav Jerabek took the derny bike with Escuredo following, while Wolff sat towards the back. Ng led out with one lap to go, before being overtaken by Wolff (who won) and Nothstein, but a fast finishing Escuredo managed to pip Nothstein for second place and went through to the next round.

The third and final heat saw Australian Shane Kelly in action, and the kilometre specialist took the bike until Bourgain flew past with 3 laps to go. But Kelly was right on the Frenchman's wheel and led out the sprint with 2 laps to go to win the heat in 10.927 seconds ahead of Ivan Vrba (Czech Republic) and Teun Meulder (Netherlands).

The three first round repechages determined the remaining six riders to advance to round 2. Fiedler and Staff made short work of the first one, while Bourgain and Ng took 1-2 in the second. The third repechage was Theo Bos get it ahead of Lukasz Kwiatkowski.


Heat 1

1 Ryan Bayley (Australia)           10.431
2 Labros Vasilopoulos (Greece)
3 Jamie Staff (Great Britain)
4 Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Poland)
5 Theo Bos (Netherlands)
6 Toshiaki Fushimi (Japan)
7 Jens Fiedler (Germany)

Heat 2

1 Rene Wolff (Germany)              10.717
2 Jose Escuredo (Spain)
3 Martin Nothstein (USA)
4 Jaroslav Jerabek (Slovakia)
5 Josiah Ng (Malaysia)
6 Laurent Gane (France)
7 Hee Chun Yang (Korea)

Heat 3

1 Shane Kelly (Australia)           10.927
2 Ivan Vrba (Czech Republic)
3 Teun Mulder (Netherlands)
4 Jose Villanueva (Spain)
5 Jose Sochon (Guatemala)
6 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
7 Suk-Hwan Hong (Korea)
8 Mickael Bourgain (France)

First round repechages

Heat 1

1 Jens Fiedler (Germany)           10.973
2 Jamie Staff (Great Britain)
3 Jose Villanueva (Spain)
4 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
5 Jaroslav Jerabek (Slovakia)
6 Laurent Gane (France)

Heat 2

1 Mickael Bourgain (France)        10.645
2 Josiah Ng (Malaysia)
3 Jose Sochon (Guatemala)
4 Martin Nothstein (USA)
5 Toshiaki Fushimi (Japan)

Heat 3

1 Theo Bos (Netherlands)           10.953
2 Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Poland)
3 Suk-Hwan Hong (Korea)
4 Teun Mulder (Netherlands)
5 Hee Chun Yang (Korea)

Back to top