Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Past winners

Stages & Results






2002 results

Upland Sports Group, Inc
First Endurance
Verge Sport

67th Tour de Suisse- 2.HC

Switzerland, June 16-25, 2003

Stages and results     Past winners


By Chris Henry

Click for larger image
Erik Zabel
Photo: © AFP

The 67th Tour de Suisse (Tour of Switzerland) begins Monday, offering 10 days of racing in the final period of preparation for the Tour de France. Of course, the Tour de Suisse is an important race in its own right, the biggest stage race after the three grand tours. Featuring a prologue and an individual time trial and plenty of climbing through the Swiss countryside, the Tour de Suisse provides all the necessary elements for an hors categorie stage race.

This year's follows a similar pattern to the 2002 edition, opening with the prologue and two rolling stages which could still suit the sprinters, before hitting the first climbs on stage 3 between Nyon and a summit finish at Saas Fee. The race route follows an arc, focusing the major climbing in the middle stages and testing riders against the clock in the prologue and the penultimate stage.

Among the top names lining up for the prologue in Egerkingen will be Team Bianchi leader Jan Ullrich, who chose Switzerland over the Dauphiné Libéré in his build up for the Tour de France. Other big names to watch will be Swiss native and defending champion Alex Zülle, eager to put in a good showing given that Phonak will not race this year's Tour de France, Dario Frigo (Fassa Bortolo), Francesco Casagrande (Lampre), and Alexandre Vinokourov (Telekom).

Past winners

      Winner                      Second                    Third
2002  Alex Zülle (Swi)            Piotr Wadecki (Pol)       Nicolas Fritsch (Fra)
2001  Lance Armstrong (USA)       Gilberto Simoni (Ita)     Wladimir Belli (Ita) 
2000  Oscar Camenzind (Swi)       Dario Frigo (Ita)         Wladimir Belli (Ita)
1999  Francesco Casagrande (Ita)  Laurent Jalabert (Fra)    Gilberto Simoni (Ita)
1998  Stefano Garzelli (Ita)      Beat Zberg (Swi)          Wladimir Belli (Ita)
1997  Christophe Agnolutto (Fra)  Oscar Camenzind (Swi)     Jan Ullrich (Ger)
1996  Peter Luttenberger (Aut)    Gianni Faresin (Ita)      Gianni Bugno (Ita)
1995  Pawel Tonkov (Rus)          Alex Zülle (Swi)          Zenon Jaskula (Pol)
1994  Pascal Richard (Swi)        Wladimir Pulnikow (Rus)   Gianluca Pierobon (Ita)
1993  Marco Saligari (Ita)        Rolf Järmann (Swi)        Fernando Escartin (Spa)
1992  Giorgio Furlan (Ita)        Gianni Bugno (Ita)        Fabian Jeker (Swi)
1991  Luc Roosen (Bel)            Pascal Richard (Swi)      Andrew Hampsten (USA)
1990  Sean Kelly (Irl)            Robert Millar (Gb)        Andrew Hampsten (USA)
1989  Beat Breu (Swi)             Daniel Steiger (Swi)      Jörg Müller (Swi)
1988  Helmut Wechselberger (Aut)  Steve Bauer (Can)         Acacio da Silva (Por)
1987  Andrew Hampsten (USA)       Peter Winnen (Ned)        Fabio Parra (Col)
1986  Andrew Hampsten (USA)       Robert Millar (GB)        Greg Lemond (USA)
1985  Phil Anderson (Aus)         Niki Rüttimann (Swi)      Guido Winterberg (Swi)
1984  Urs Zimmermann (Swi)        Silva da Acacio (Por)     Gerhard Zadrobilek (Aut)
1983  Sean Kelly (Ire)            Peter Winnen (Ned)        Jean-Marie Grezet (Swi)
1982  Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)      Theo de Rooy (Ned)        Guido van Calster (Bel)
1981  Beat Breu (Swi)             Joseph Fuchs (Swi)        Leonardo Natale (Ita)
1980  Mario Beggia (Ita)          Josef Fuchs (Swi)         Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1979  Wilfried Wesemael (Bel)     Rudi Pevenage (Bel)       Leonardo Mazzantini (Ita)
1978  Paul Wellens (Bel)          Ueli Sutter (Swi)         Josef Fuchs (Swi)
1977  Michel Pollentier (Bel)     Lucien van Impe (Bel)     Bert Pronk (Ned)
1976  Hennie Kuiper (Ned)         Michel Pollentier (Bel)   José Pesarradona (Spa)
1975  Roger de Vlaeminck (Bel)    Eddy Merckx (Bel)         Louis Pfenninger (Swi)
1974  Eddy Merckx (Bel)           Gösta Pettersson (Swe)    Louis Pfenninger (Swi)
1973  José-Manuel Fuente (Spa)    Donato Giuliani (Ita)     Wladimiro Panizza (Ita)
1972  Louis Pfenninger (Swi)      Roger Pingeon (Fra)       Michele Dancelli (Ita)
1971  Georges Pintens (Bel)       Louis Pfenninger (Swi)    Ugo Colombo (Ita)
1970  Roberto Poggiali (Ita)      Louis Pfenninger (Swi)    Primo Mori (Ita)
1969  Vittorio Adorni (Ita)       Aurelio Gonzales (Spa)    Bernard Vifian (Swi)
1968  Louis Pfenninger (Swi)      Robert Hagmann (Swi)      Hermann van Springel (Bel)
1967  Gianni Motta (Ita)          Rolf Maurer (Swi)         Luis-Pedro Santamarina (Spa)
1966  Ambrogio Portalupi (Ita)    Carlo Chiappano (Ita)     Ruedi Zollinger (Swi)
1965  Franco Bitossi (Ita)        Joseph Huysmans (Bel)     Marcello Mugnaini (Ita)
1964  Rolf Maurer (Swi)           Franco Balmamion (Ita)    Italo Zilioli (Ita)
1963  Giuseppe Fezzardi (Ita)     Rolf Maurer (Swi)         Attilio Moresi (Swi)
1962  Hans Junkermann (Ger)       Franco Balmamion (Ita)    Aldo Moser (Ita)
1961  Attilio Moresi (Swi)        Hilaire Couvreur (Bel)    Alfred Rüegg (Swi)
1960  Alfred Rüegg (Swi)          Kurt Gimmi (Swi)          René Strehler (Swi)
1959  Hans Junkermann (Ger)       Henri Anglade (Fra)       Federico Bahamontes (Spa)
1958  Pasquale Fornara (Ita)      Hans Junkermann (Ger)     Nino Catalano (Ita)
1957  Pasquale Fornara (Ita)      Edgar Sorgeloos (Bel)     Attilio Moresi (Swi)
1956  Rolf Graf (Swi)             Fritz Schär (Swi)         Joseph Planckaert (Bel)
1955  Hugo Koblet (Swi)           Stan Ockers (Bel)         Carlo Clerici (Swi)
1954  Pasquale Fornara (Ita)      Agostino Coletto (Ita)    Giancarlo Astrua (Ita)
1953  Hugo Koblet (Swi)           Fritz Schär (Swi)         Danilo Barozzi (Ita)
1952  Pasquale Fornara (Ita)      Ferdinand Kübler (Swi)    Carlo Clerici (Swi)
1951  Ferdinand Kübler (Swi)      Hugo Koblet (Swi)         Alfredo Martini (Ita)
1950  Hugo Koblet (Swi)           Jean Goldschmit (Lux)     Aldo Ronconi (Ita)
1949  Gottfried Weilenmann (Swi)  Georges Aeschlimann (Swi) Ernst Stettler (Swi)
1948  Ferdinand Kübler (Swi)      Giulio Bresci (Ita)       Hans Sommer (Swi)
1947  Gino Bartali (Ita)          Giulio Bresci (Ita)       Stan Ockers (Bel)
1946  Gino Bartali (Ita)          Josef Wagner (Swi)        Aldo Ronconi (Ita)
1942  Ferdinand Kübler (Swi)      Willi Kern (Swi)          Fritz Stocker (Swi)
1941  Josef Wagner (Swi)          Werner Buchwalder (Swi)   Ferdinand Kübler (Swi)
1939  Robert Zimmermann (Swi)     Max Bolliger (Swi)        Christophe Didier (Lux)
1938  Giovanni Valetti (Ita)      Arsène Mersch (Lux)       Severino Canavesi (Ita)
1937  Karl Litschi (Swi)          Leo Amberg (Swi)          Walter Blattmann (Swi)
1936  Henri Garnier (Bel)         Gustave Deloor (Bel)      Leo Amberg (Swi)
1935  Gaspard Rinaldi (Fra)       Leo Amberg (Swi)          Henri Garnier (Bel)
1934  Ludwig Geyer (Ger)          Léon Level (Fra)          Francesco Camusso (Ita)
1933  Max Bulla (Aut)             Albert Büchi (Swi)        Gaspard Rinaldi (Fra)

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com

back to top