Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Ohop Trophy #5

Eatonville, Washington, July 3 2005

Benaroya dominates again, this time with Atwood

After his teammate Tyler Givens showed some serious power on the course a month earlier, Eric Atwood (Benaroya Research Institute) took his turn to leave a mark on the Ohop Trophy series by winning both the Masters and Cat 1/2/3 races alone.

Defying the traditional neutral first lap, Greg Goad (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket) made few friends by accelerating away on the first accent of the Muur Michelle. The field seemed unconcerned, letting him run his lead up to one minute before Atwood stamped his authority on the race, taking series leader Gary Brown with him.

Kent Johntston (Fred Meyer) and Michael Pruitt (Starbucks Doubelshot/Spoke & Sprocket) attempted to respond but were quickly dispatched. With 4 laps to go, Goad had been caught by the charging Atwood while Brown had fallen back to the chasers. With two to go Pruitt had an untimely flat and was left to hold onto fifth. Danger man Brown also came to grief, flatting on the final lap and finishing fourth. Goad faded to third, finishing as the highest Cat 3.

Junior - 5 laps (10 miles)

Nolan Hayden (Aurora Cycles) gets to officially declare himself the 1st Washington Cup Junior Champion having mathematically eliminated any chance of an upset.

Masters - 10 laps (22 miles)

The day's strongman, Eric Atwood launched the decisive attack up the final climb of the Muur Michelle after bridging up to race leaders Michael Pruitt & Kent Johnston 2 laps earlier. The 3 riders had tested each other and Atwood clearly had the superior legs on the day with Johnston and Pruitt sprinting for 2nd some 10 seconds back.

Cat 4/5 - 10 laps (20 miles)

Taking advantage of the combined start Masters- Cat4-Womens format Bob Sackett-Converse wisely initiated the winning break with Pruitt & Johnston, using the stronger riders to help him establish a lead against his own field. Dropped from the break with 5 to go, he managed to solo the remainder of the race to win the Cat 4 and also place 4th overall.


Category 1/2/3 - 10 laps (20 miles)
1 Eric Atwood (Benaroya Research Institute)                       
2 Kent Johnston (Fred Meyer)                                      
3 Greg Goad (Starbucks Doubleshot)                                
4 Gary Brown (Zoka Coffee)                                        
5 Michael Pruitt (Starbucks Doubleshot)                           
Cat 4/5
1 Bob Sackett-Converse (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)    
2 Eric Layland (Zoka Coffee)                                      
3 Chris Black (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)             
4 Matt Swanson (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)            
5 Dee Rasabout (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)            
6 Vincent Rowland                                                 
1 Maribeth Evecich (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)        
2 Shannon Whitlatch (Fred Meyer)                                  
3 Carrie Cooper (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)           
1 Eric Atwood (Benaroya Research Institute)                       
2 Michael Pruitt (Starbucks Doubleshot/Spoke & Sprocket)          
3 Kent Johnston (Fred Meyers)                                     
4 Greg Goad (Starbucks Doubleshot)                                
5 Gary Brown (Zoka Coffee)                                        
1 Nolan Hayden (Aurora)                                           
2 Tristan Win-Whitlatch (Fred Meyer)                              

Local results 2004