Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Placer Motors Primavera Race

Helena, Montana, April 17, 2005

Season Opening Win for Echelon Cycling Team

John Juras

In an impressive return from winter sports related knee injuries, John Juras had one goal in mind for his first race of the season, to empty the tank of whatever gas he had and to put his stamp on a potentially boring 40 mile flat road race in Helena, Montana. After reading an inspirational email from a top regional competitor (see following article) with quotes like "In a good bike race, everyone finishes proudly TRASHED from the winner all the way down to last place", John decided to race aggressively throughout this early season test, despite having less than 300 miles of training for the year.

Typically a middle of the pack finisher among the 20 or so 40+ Masters in the Montana racing scene, John set off on a solo suicide breakaway just a couple miles into the race. Post race he said "the typical long, slow Masters warm-up was definitely not emptying my tank." After 15 miles alone in the wind with up to a minute gap on the peloton, a big surge in the bunch brought the pack back to striking distance. A lone rider bridged up and the now two leaders picked up the pace to stay away for another 10 miles.

Persistent chasing by the strong YVCC and Northern Rockies teams brought the now diminished pack back together. Strong successive counter-attacks by John's teammates Jeff Agamenoni and Rich West did not get far as the now vigilant pack brought back anything that moved with only 12 miles to go in the race. Moderate tempo riding (-Yawn-) by a couple N3WB's brought the group to the critical two mile pothole/bad asphalt (cobblestone?) section just before the finish. With four miles to go, John launched a decisive attack just ahead of a corner, opened up a nice gap, and set his dwindling reserves to work holding off a hard chasing peloton. "I mainly didn't want to follow wheels through the cobbles."

Effective blocking by teammate Rich West (yes, blocking is a vital element of good racing - sorry Brink) slowed the chasers just enough to keep John free until 1 km to go, a lone YVCC rider bridged up. "I was nearly cooked with only a final sprint left in the legs, so I forced him into the lead." At 250 metres, John launched an all out sprint, shook the YVCC guy, never let up, and finished a bike length ahead of fast closing Michael Longmire (Northern Rockies), and Dave Nigh(YVCC), James Curran (YVCC) and Rich West. "I had no idea they were so close, I just focused on giving it everything. Thanks, Rich."

Juras now aims at starting the Tour de France for the first time this year. By beating no less than last year's MBRA winners West and Longmire, he has shown that he deserves a spot in July.


Men 1-3, 60 miles
1 Blake Weidenheft (G.A.S./Heritage Homes) 2:31.00       
2 Brad Morgan (G.A.S./Heritage Homes)                    
3 Tejay Van Garderen (Rio Grande)                        
4 Russ Schneider (Flathead Cycling Cycling Team)         
5 John Weyhrich (Five Valley Velo)                       
6 Dan Barry (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)            
7 Bob Presta (Five Valley Velo)                          
8 Aaron Johnson (G.A.S./Heritage Homes)                  
9 Timmy Evens (Northern Rockies)                         
10 Jason Hobson (Five Valley Velo)                       
11 Brink Kuchenbrod (Montana Velo)                       
12 Shane Mundt (Montana Velo)                            
DNF Scott Boone (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)
Women 1-5, 40 miles
1 Anne Hobbs (Northern Rockies)                          
2 Andrea Thorpe (Five Valley Velo)                       
3 Jane O'Driscoll (Great Divide Cycling Team)            
4 Rhonda Wodnick (Great Divide Cycling Team)             
Juniors, 40 miles
1 Marshall Opel (Montana Junior Cycling Foundation)      
2 Jace Meng (Montana Junior Cycling Foundation)          
3 William Zellmer (Montana Junior Cycling Foundation)    
Men 4, 5, 40 miles
1 Alex Lussier (G.A.S./Heritage Homes)                   
2 Matt Butterfield (Flathead Cycling Team)               
3 Dave Hassinger (Echelon Cycling Team)                  
4 Jason Keister (Flathead Cycling Team)                  
5 John Gleaves (Montana Velo)                            
6 Eric Ziegler (Northern Rockies)                        
7 Miles Key (Five Valley Velo)                           
8 Chris Rice (G.A.S./Heritage Homes)                     
9 Joe Chalmers (Northern Rockies)                        
10 Eric Landl (Great Divide Cycling Team)                
11 Robert Funk (Northern Rockies)                        
12 Rick Finley (Great Divide Cycling Team)               
13 Ben Sullivan (Montana Velo)                           
14 Will Snider (Great Divide Cycling Team)               
15 Don Ruesch (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Team)          
16 Robert Ray (Great Divide Cycling Team)                
17 Mike Borduin (Highlands Cycling Club)                 
18 Matt Arndt (Five Valley Velo)                         
19 Albert Pendergras (Gallatin Valley Cycling Club)      
20 Paul Nash (Unattached)                                
21 Trevor Brandt (Great Divide Cycling Team)             
22 Mark Hauger (Northern Rockies)                        
Did not Finish
 Dirk Basilewitsch (Great Divide Cycling Team)           
 John Winne (G.A.S./Heritage Homes)                      
 Steve Coen (Montana Velo)                               
 Caleb Hood (Unattached)                                 
 Jadin Vansteenvort (Great Divide Cycling Team)          
Masters 40+, 40 miles
1 John Juras (Echelon Cycling Team)                      
2 Mike Longmire (Northern Rockies)                       
3 Dave Nigh (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)            
4 James Curran (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)         
5 Rich West (Echelon Cycling Team)                       
6 Jeff Olson (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)           
7 Charles Harper (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)       
8 Bill Gasteyer (Unattached)                             
9 Scott Smith (Yellowstone Valley Cycling Club)          
10 John Weston (Five Valley Velo)                        
11 John Coulthard (Highlands Cycling Club)               
12 Jeff Agamenoni (Echelon Cycling Team)                 
13 Byron DeFord (Great Divide Cycling Team)              
14 Blair Fisher (Unattached)                             
15 Jay Shaver (Flathead Valley Cycling Team)             
16 Ken Campbell (Flathead Valley Cycling Team)           
17 David Schoening (Alan Factory Team)                   
18 Harold Dramstad (Unattached)                          
DNF Bill Schneider (Flathead Valley Cycling Team)        
Masters 55+, 40 miles
1 Richard Allen (Five Valley Velo)                       

Local results 2004