Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Infineon Raceway Spring Cycling Series

Infineon Raceway, Sonoma, CA, April 7, 2005

Santa Rosa's Standish takes win in Spring Cycling Series

Ben Standish used a last-lap sprint to take the victory Thursday night in the first round of the Infineon Raceway Spring Cycling Series.

Standish, who rides for Dewars Race Team, was engaged in a tight battle with Napa's Todd Hennings (Napa Valley Velo) over the final lap, but the Santa Rosa resident rounded Turn 11 and sprinted the final 100 yards for the win by just three seconds in the A Race. Hennings took second and Santa Rosa's Gavin Chilcott (Dewars Race Team) rounded out the top three.

"The wind was a huge factor today, not so much that hill at Turn 1," Standish said. "I just had enough in me at the end to win." The race covered eight laps over the 10-turn, 1.99-mile course, which is the same circuit used for the Dodge/Save Mart 350 Nascar Nextel Cup event, which will take place in June.

Santa Rosa's Jonathan Lee (Eastside Cycles) won the B Race, which also covered eight laps. He was followed by Santa Rosa's Shawn Daly and San Rafael's Josh Litwack. The event attracted 32 cyclists.

The second round of the series returns to Infineon Raceway on Thursday, April 14. Gates open at 5pm, with registration at 5:30pm, and the race starting at 6 pm. Cost is $10 per competitor.


A Race, 8 laps
1 Ben Standish (Dewars Race Team, Santa Rosa)      
2 Todd Hennings (Napa Valley Velo, Napa)           
3 Gavin Chilcott (Dewars Race Team, Santa Rosa)    
4 Josh Sneah (, Larkspur)               
5 Justin Lucke (Sonoma)                            
B Race, 8 laps
1 Jonathan Lee (Eastside Cycles, Santa Rosa)       
2 Shawn Daly (Santa Rosa)                          
3 Josh Litwack (San Rafael)                        
4 Lance Newey (Bike Plus, Fair Oaks)               
5 Tony Madrigal (Sonoma)                           

Local results 2004