Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Bring it on! Race Series Final

Alachua Florida, February 7, 2004

Larson takes finale & series

By Team Florida Cycling

The final race of the season-opening series featured some tight battles for the overall crown in cool and blustery conditions. The 20-30mph winds made it a tough fight not only amongst competitors, but also against mother nature.

The A grade competition featured a leapfrog of sorts as Dan Larson (Cycle Science) jumped past previous series leader Bobby Lea (Team Fuji), who is traveling to the upcoming World Cup track competition in Moscow, in the overall standings. In the process, Larson claimed his 9th win in the event's history and his fourth straight overall title. This final race did pose quite a challenge however, as several top riders came out of the woodwork to shake off the cobwebs for the upcoming season. These included U.S.U23 National Champion Jonathan Erdelyi (Ofoto), multiple U.S. Military National Champion Steve Mlujiak (US Armed Forces), and former Masters US National and World Champion Jason Snow (Team Fuji).

All of these top riders were upstaged by the locals as Larson, Mike Gann (Bike Route), and Ryan Saylor (Chain Reaction) established a small breakaway about halfway through the event. The three set to work in a smooth coalition while the field's chase experienced nothing but fits and starts in the brutal winds. While the chase forced a selection in the main field, splitting it in two, it never made progress toward the catch of the determined trio. As the breakaway had solidified its gap with about 4 maps remaining, Larson attacked and rode clear for the win, lapping the 2nd half of the field in the process. Gann then bested Saylor in the sprint for second. The better half of the field, sprinting for 4th, place was led home by David Guttenplan (Locos) who was in turn followed by Mlujiak and Mike Esmomde(ORC) in 5th and 6th respectively.

The final B race of the series proved to be yet another replay of the previous weeks outcome, a large herd dashing for line on the final lap. The winner here, as in the A grade race, leapfrogged a Dan into the overall series lead. In this case, Dan Muchlschlegel (GCC) claimed the victory. After several unsuccessful attempts to establish breakaways, the field once again arrived at the line in en masse. Directly after Muchlschlegel came Seth Hansley (unattached), Tony Alexander (GCC), Chase Fullerton (Orlando Velo), and Paul Johnson (UF Cycling).

The Women's event featured an upset as the scratchwomen failed to make contact with the nearest outmarkers for the time in the series' history. A key trio formulated the upset with some smooth work and some underestimated strength. The winning combination included a top local mountain biker, Rachel Massey (Emerald Coast Cycling), a local Gainesville resident Mandi Hall (Bike Route) and former Florida Points series champion Cindy Tompkins (Bike Route). The three managed to hold a handy lead on the two scratchwomen Kristine Bileau (Unattached), and many time national champion Rebecca McClintock (Colavita/Bolla). In the end Tompkins claimed the victory ahead of Massey and Hall respectively. McClintock and Bileau did manage to dispose of all of the remaining outmarkers to claim 4th and 5th accordingly. As a consolation, McClintock retained the overall series lead via tiebreak of number of wins (2).


A grade, 25 laps, 27.5 miles
1 Dan Larson (Cycle Science)
2 Mike Gann (Bike Route)
3 Ryan Saylor (Chain Reaction/UF Cycling)
4 David Gutenplan (Locos)
5 Steve Mlujiak (US Armed Forces)
6 Mike Esmonde (ORC)
B grade, 20 laps, 22 miles
1 Dan Muchlschlegel (Gainesville Cycling Club)
2 Seth Hansley (unattached)
3 Tony Alexander (GCC)
4 Chase Fullerton (Orlando Velo)
5 Paul Johnson (UF Cycling)
6 Brock Adams (UF Cycling)
Women, 10 lap handicap, 11 miles
1 Cindy Tompkins
2 Rachel Massey (unattached)
3 Mandi Hall (Bike Route)
4 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita/Bolla)
5 Kristine Bileau (unattached)
6 Alane Balweg (Univ. of Texas)
7 Teresa Garcia (UF Cycling)
8 Cate Prier (unattached)
9 Lynn Mahaffey (GCC)
10 Vanessa Castenello (UF Cycling)
11 Marissa Catlin (UF Cycling)
12 Courtney Delton (SFCC)
Final Overall Standings 
A Grade
1 Dan Larson              21 pts
2 Bobby Lea               12
3 Mike Gann               10
4 Ryan Saylor              8
5 Dave Gutenplan           8
6 Mike Freidman            5
7 Steve Mlujiak            4
8 Gary Yates               4
9 Kyle Wamsley             3
10 Anton Tupa              3
11 Rudy Rubaina            2
12 Mike Esmonde            2
13 Jim Wright              1
14 Daniel Holt             1
B Grade
1 Dan Muchlschlegel       21
2 Brock Adams             17
3 Alex Rodriguez          16
4 Seth Haley              15
5 Paul Johnson            12
6 Tony Alexander           8
7 Chase Fullerton          6
8 Mark Keister             5
9 Rebecca McClintock       4
10 Dominik Girovard        1
1 Rebecca McClintock      18
2 Mandi Hall              18
3 Cindy Tompkins          12
4 Rachel Massey           10
5 Nancy Bruner             9
6 April Flanders           6
7 Kelly Rooney             6
8 Michele Moss             6
9 Kristine Bileau          4
10 Valerie Parks           4
11 Alexis Dabroski         3
12 Alane Balweg            2
13 CatePrier               2
14 Teresa Garcia           2
15 Tracy Sutherland        1
16 Stephanie Sherril       1
17 Christi-Ann Hansley     1 

Local results 2004