Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Pescadero Road Race

Pescadero, CA, June 28, 2003

By Greg Drake, Webcor Cycling

The 2003 Pescadero Road Race began under abating coastal fog with a two-mile neutral promenade. The short warm-up must have been enough as the Webcor team immediately went to the front and set a moderate tempo before the sprint prime at mile three. Lionel Syne (Webcor Cycling Team) easily won the sprint as the peloton braced for the first climb of the day up Stage Road.

The pace up the first climb was brisk with Sierra Nevada and HealthNet trading off pacesetting with the Webcor squad. With the pack still together the descent leading into the second climb on Stage Road was fast. John Hunt (HealthNet) attacked at the base of the climb with Greg Drake (Webcor) and Justin Morgan (Sierra Nevada) covering the move. By the top of the climb the group had a 30 second gap and was joined by Dave Fuentes (Clif Bar) and Randy Rocchi (HealthNet).

Hunt and Rocchi drove the break for several miles until a chasing group bridged containing Lionel Syne (Webcor), Kevin Klein (Unattached) and Jackson Stewart (Ofoto - Lombardi Sports). The break rolled through the course efficiently and eventually increased their gap to over 6 minutes by the halfway mark.

A chase group of three was launched containing Marc Hagenlocher (Webcor), Roman Kilun (Spokesman) and a Sierra Nevada rider. At mile 60 they were 3 minutes off the lead group. It was at this time that Greg Drake (Webcor) flatted and got a slow wheel change leaving him to chase back to on to the peloton to join his teammates who now were left to chase down the break.

The next time split received indicated the break had increased their lead to over 8 minutes. The Webcor team quickly assembled at the front and began to chase in earnest, all the while knowing that closing an 8 minute gap on a strong group of riders in 20 miles of hilly terrain was next to impossible. They ended up gobbling up the 3 man chase leading into the finish and taking half the time out of the lead break, but the riders up front smelled the line.

The break picked up speed intent on holding off the inevitable chase. Coming into the last trip up the Stage Road climbs attacks began coming from all over. The group began to splinter in the 4 mile gradual rise on Highway 84 leading to the finish. At the bottom of the 2 mile finishing climb up Haskins Hill, Dave Fuentes attacked. He held a gap almost all the way to the finish but had a technical just before the line. Kevin Klein, hot on his wheel crossed the line in first, beating John Hunt for the win. Fuentes still managed third despite his troubles.


Pro 1/2, 166 km
1 Kevin Klein (unattached)                         4.27.22 (37.26 km/h)
2 John Hunt (HealthNet)                               0.00
3 Dave Fuentes (Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar)               0.16
4 Randy Rocchi (HealthNet)                            0.44
5 Justin Morgan (Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar)              3.30
6 Lionel Syne (Webcor Cycling Team)                   4.24
7 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar)         5.09
8 Michael Anker (K.B. Home Cycling Team)              5.10
9 Jackson Stewart (Ofoto-Lombardi Sports)             5.34
10 Gregory Drake (Webcor Cycling Team)                5.38
11 Andy Jacques-Maynes (Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar)       5.46
12 Benjamin Haldeman (Santa Cruz Spokesman)
13 Chris D'Aluiso (Morgan Stanley/Specialized)
14 Akira Wong (McGuire Cycling Team)                  5.55
15 Andres Gil (Delta Velo)                            6.31
16 Lance Doherty (3BRT/Cal Cycling)                   6.36
17 Patrick Dunaway (HealthNet)                        6.38
18 Richard Pego (LGBRC)                               6.46
19 Marc Hagenlocher (Webcor Cycling Team)             7.29
20 Eric Wright (Unattached)                           7.38
21 Dario Falquier (Webcor Cycling Team)               8.30
22 Matt Dubberley (Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar)            9.10
23 Ted Huang (Webcor Cycling Team)                    9.17
24 John Kelly (Webcor Cycling Team)                   9.43
25 Roman Kilun (Santa Cruz Spokesman)
26 James Mattis (Webcor Cycling Team)                12.29
27 Andrew Touchstone (GS Lombardi-Foundry)           13.00
28 Geoffrey Rapoport (Minute Maid-Dasani)            14.58
29 John Hygelund (Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar)            15.15
30 Mike Taylor (Orbais Cycliste)                     20.12
31 Jeff Caton (Napa Valley Velo)                     22.26
32 Jon Erskine (LGBRC)
33 Lucas Euser (Napa Valley Velo)                    30.03
34 Jonas Boli (Webcor Cycling Team)                  38.36
Women 1/2, 121 km
1 Michelle Beltran (Women First/Red 5)             3.51.48 (31.32 km/h)
2 Katherine Maher (Basis)                             0.05
3 Shelly Whisenhant (Velo Bella)                      0.17
4 Cynthia Mommsen (Olympic Club)                      0.35
5 Joy Schaffer (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)        1.35
6 Taitt Sato (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)         10.46
7 Brenda Lyons (Nor Cal Velo)
8 Cathleen Lenno? (Velo Bella)
9 Keri Silk (Palo Alto Bicycles)
10 Christine Vardaros (Velo Bella)
11 Cindy Carroll (Excel Sports Boulder)
12 Kim Cunningham (Morgan Stanley/Specialized)
13 Lisa Hunt (Olympic Club)
14 Troy Watson (McGuire/Cycle Couriers of SF)        18.14
15 Virginia Richards (Palo Alto Bicycles)            19.56 

Previous USA Results